top of page
  • N. N. Light

5++ stars for A Governess Should Never…Lure a Spy by Emily Windsor #regency #historicalromance #bookreview



Title: A Governess Should Never…Lure a Spy

Author: Emily Windsor

Genre: Regency Romance

 

Book Blurb:

 

“So tell me, Miss Jones, why should I employ you as governess?”

 

A question to rouse fear within the breast of any prospective governess, unless…she wasn’t a governess at all.

 

Yet Amelia must secure this position by whatever means necessary as this gentleman, dubbed The Scandalous Hugh Cadwalader by fashionable society, is not all he seems. Behind the elegant finery and azure eyes is a dangerous warrior of a man, a tenacious spy for the Crown.

 

One who might just have turned traitor…

 

“Just one more question, if I may…”

 

With her perfect references and perfect demureness, Miss Jones appears…perfect.

 

Feminine guidance and distraction are required for his inquisitive ward while Hugh Cadwalader hunts a traitor in the alleys of London’s Rookery.

 

But can such perfection be all it seems? And was that a glimpse of golden fire within those amber eyes?

 

The Dangerous Spy and… The More Dangerous Governess.

 

One should never judge a governess by her perfectly forged references or a spy by his unblemished Hessian boots, for behind both facades lay passion untamed, subterfuge unbound and a quest for justice.

 

A battle of wits with only one winner… Love.

 

With theatres of glister and glamour, nights of shadow and menace, hairpins of poison, and…being pressed to a desk by a shirtless masculine chest, the vocation of governess has never been so perilous – to the heart.

 

The Scandalous Hugh Cadwalader first features in Book 2 of this series, A Governess Should Never... Deny a Duke. This is his story.

 

Contains sensual scenes.

 

The Governess Chronicles:

 

1 – A Governess Should Never... Tempt a Prizefighter

2 – A Governess Should Never... Deny a Duke (An Amazon US No. 1 Regency Romance)

3 – A Gentleman Will Never… Forget a Lady (Christmas Novella)

4 – A Governess Should Never… Lure a Spy

 

My Review:

 

Amelia works for the Foreign Office. Hugh works for the Home Office. Can these two spies complete their missions while guarding their hearts? A Governess Should Never…Lure a Spy is book four in one of my favorite Regency romance series by Emily Windsor. Blending a Foreign Office versus Home Office rivalry, covert missions, a passionate love affair, plus a kind-hearted ward, A Governess Should Never…Lure a Spy will keep you riveted until the very end.


Let’s start with the characters. Hugh is a decorated spy who’s secretly investigating the death of his dear friend. It’s a treacherous game, only made more daring when he falls in love with his governess who is a spy named Amelia. Together, their attraction is explosive, but neither is prepared for what’s to come.


The characters are magnificent with depth, character, and motives. Who is playing which side drives the plot. I connected with many of the characters, especially Amelia and Hugh. They flew off the page and into my heart.


The historical accuracy is flawless, but I’ve come to expect that from this author. Every detail resonates with the reader and draws them in. I immersed myself in this Regency romance with subterfuge and couldn’t stop reading.

 

Her detailed narration is not only historically accurate but allows the reader to immerse themselves in the world she creates. Intricate details such as clothing, food, boxing equipment, and scenery added to my enjoyment of the story.


If you like Regency romance featuring spies, this is your next must-read. It can be read as a standalone. Fans of Bree Wolf, Cerise DeLand, and Julia Quinn will love this book.

 

My Rating: 5++ stars

 

Buy it Now:   

 

Free to read on Kindle Unlimited!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author Biography:

 

Regency Romance with Warmth, Wit & Well-tied Cravats.

 

Emily grew up in the north of England on a diet of historical romance and strong tea.

 

Unfortunately, you couldn’t study Regency slang, so she did the next best thing and gained a degree in Classics and History instead. This ‘led’ to an eight-year stint in engineering.

 

Having left city life, she now lives in a dilapidated farmhouse where her days are spent writing, fixing the leaky roof, battling the endless vegetation and finding pictures of well-tied cravats.

 

Social Media Links:

 

 

Reviewed by: Nancy

Comments


bottom of page