top of page
  • N. N. Light

5+ stars for The Day After by Andrew Masseurs #bookreview #apocalyptic #dystopian #yalit #yadystopian



Title: The Day After

Author: Andrew Masseurs

Genre: Apocalyptic, Dystopian, Suspense, Thriller

 

Book Blurb:

 

They called it, The Vanishing. When the world’s population mysteriously disappeared. Michael Stevenson and his family somehow managed to survive in a world of adversity filled with new strange predatory creatures. Now, in the sequel to the well received novella, A Day in the Life, that reviewers called:

 

“An unparalleled reading experience.”

 

“A literary roller coaster that defies expectations.”

 

“Unputdownable.”

 

“Impressed is an understatement.”

 

We will find out what the strange being really meant when it said, “you will probably not survive, Michael Stevenson.” When the world recognises you as a virus. The worst enemy in an existence that wants you dead. Might just be yourself.

 

Join our brave heroine, 14-year-old Shelby Frances O’Leary and author, Andrew Masseurs on the adventure of a hazardous, devastating lifetime.

 

My Review:

 

A perilous adventure of survival in the YA post-apocalyptic/dystopian genre, perfect for fans of James Dashner’s ‘The Maze Runner’.

 

The focus of the second book in the ‘A Day in the Life Series’ is on Shelby Frances O’Leary, a wonderful secondary character from the first novella. Her story intertwines with Michael Stevenson’s before taking the reader on her terrifying journey of survival in this insanely dangerous new world. She encounters so many lovable and scary secondary characters along the way and forms wonderful yet tragic relationships that can only be formed under the intense pressure of trauma.

 

An integral part of the overall reading experience is the plotting and the world-building in this unique tale. The danger around every corner coming from unexpected and shocking sources, ramps up the tension to an almost unbearable level and keeps you glued to the page.

 

If you enjoyed the first novella in this series, this second full-length novel will truly blow your mind.

 

My Rating: 5+ stars

 

Buy it Now:   

 

 

 

 

 

Author Biography:

 

Andrew Masseurs is a creatively restless spirit. While spending over twenty years creating music, four albums and an ep, he found himself inexplicably focused on writing one day on holiday. The result, his first exciting novella, A Day in the Life Novella (A Day in the Life Series, Book One)  Relishing the experience Andrew is now getting the second book in the A Day in the Life series,  The Day After (A Day in the Life Series, Book Two) ready for release and is currently writing the third book in the series.

 

Andrew is a loving husband and father to four kids living in the beautiful country that is New Zealand

 

Social Media Links:

 

 

Reviewed by: Michelle

Коментарі


bottom of page