Perfect For Fans of the TV Series Mr Selfridge and The Paradise. . . The Mistress of Pennington’s by @RachelBrimble #historicalromance #romance #saga #giveaway

July 11, 2018

 

Title The Mistress of Pennington’s

Author Rachel Brimble

Genre Edwardian Saga/Romance

Publisher Aria Fiction

 

Book Blurb

1910 – A compelling tale of female empowerment in Bath's leading department store. Perfect for the fans of the TV series Mr Selfridge and The Paradise.

 

Elizabeth Pennington should be the rightful heir of Bath's premier department store through her enterprising schemes and dogged hard work. Her father, Edward Pennington, believes his daughter lacks the business acumen to run his empire and is resolute a man will succeed him.

 

Determined to break from her father's iron-clad hold and prove she is worthy of inheriting the store, Elizabeth forms an unlikely alliance with ambitious and charismatic master glove-maker Joseph Carter. United they forge forward to bring Pennington's into a new decade, embracing woman's equality and progression whilst trying not to mix business and pleasure.

 

Can this dream team thwart Edward Pennington's plans for the store? Or will Edward prove himself an unshakeable force who will ultimately ruin both Elizabeth and Joseph?

 

Excerpt

 

He moved to walk away, and she reached for his arm before she could think just how dangerous such contact could be. He halted, and even when he looked at her fingers clutched on his forearm, she did not remove them. It suddenly felt important she touch him; that he understood she had care for what he said or asked her.

 

Even though the physical contact set her heart racing, she held her grasp. ‘Why do you ask me about your family?’

 

He closed his eyes and dropped his chin to his chest.

 

Disquiet whispered through her. What had caused such uncharacteristic hesitation in him?

 

‘Joseph…’ She slid her hand from his arm, ignoring the pang of loss that the break of contact brought. ‘If there’s something bothering you, please, share it with me.’

 

He slowly raised his head, his blue eyes full of irritation once more. ‘I will, but not here. Not on the street. I’d prefer to come to your office tomorrow.’

 

How was she supposed to wait until tomorrow? Her curiosity was rife. It was clear something had changed between them. Something, it seemed, of which she was the cause.

 

She nodded. ‘I’ll send a message to you first thing in the morning.’

 

‘Thank you. Until then, I bid you good day.’

 

He walked away, leaving Elizabeth with questions and words flailing on her tongue. She stared after him, fearful of the pull deep in her chest that Joseph’s concerns had somehow become hers. No good could come of such caring. Her only goal should be proving her worth and capability in Pennington’s and beyond. She could not allow one man, any man, to have such an effect on her.

 

She inhaled a long breath and walked towards Pennington’s doors.

 

 

 

Giveaway:

I’m one of the authors participating in the Firecracker Summer Reading Giveaway and you can win a $15/ £15 Amazon Gift Card:

 

https://www.nnlightsbookheaven.com/literary-giveaway-portal

 

Open Internationally.

 

Runs July 1 – 31. Winner will be drawn August 1.

 

Buy Links

Amazon UK: http://amzn.eu/2SvRcqp

 

Amazon US: http://a.co/bYr2KHM

 

Barnes & Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-mistress-of-penningtons-rachel-brimble/1128920728?ean=9781788546508

 

Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/ebook/the-mistress-of-pennington-s

 

Google Play: https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Rachel_Brimble_The_Mistress_of_Pennington_s?id=dIFSDwAAQBAJ

 

 

Author Biography

 

Rachel lives with her husband and two teenage daughters in a small town near Bath in the UK. Since 2007, she has had several novels published by small US presses, eight books published by Harlequin Superromance (Templeton Cove Stories) and four Victorian romances with eKensington/Lyrical.

 

In January 2018, she signed a four-book deal with Aria Fiction for a brand new Edwardian series set in Bath’s finest department store. The first book, The Mistress of Pennington’s released July 2018.

 

Rachel is a member of the Romantic Novelists Association and Romance Writers of America, and was selected to mentor the Superromance finalist of So You Think You Can Write 2014 contest. When she isn’t writing, you’ll find Rachel with her head in a book or walking the beautiful English countryside with her family. Her dream place to live is Bourton-on-the-Water in South West England.

 

Social Media Links

Website

Blog

Twitter

Facebook

Facebook Street Team - Rachel's Readers

Amazon Author Page:

https://www.amazon.com/Rachel-Brimble/e/B007829ZRM/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1490948101&sr=8-1

Goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1806411.Rachel_Brimble

 

Please reload

Recent Posts

Please reload

We'd love to hear your thoughts. All comments are moderated to avoid spam. 
 

©2018-2019 BY N. N. LIGHT. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. PROUDLY CREATED WITH WIX.COM