If You Love Janette Oke and Larry McMurtry, This is a Must-Read! Love's Whisper by @WileyDorothy #frontierromance #historicalromance #bookreview #bookish

July 19, 2018

 

Title: LOVE'S WHISPER: An American Historical Romance (Wilderness Hearts Historical Romances Book 4)

Author: Dorothy Wiley

Genre: Historical Romance, Western/Frontier & Pioneer

 

Book Blurb:

A heart-pounding novel of a love that must truly conquer all--the highly-anticipated tenth book in Wiley's best-selling novels of the American frontier. Presented in the American Wilderness Series and the Wilderness Hearts Series, the highly-rated and award-winning novels in these two series will capture your heart and touch your soul. 


In 1811, strengthened by his own struggles and triumphs, Liam Roberts earned the respect of his commanding officers and his current boss, cattleman Stephen Wyllie. Although Liam considers himself a homebody, he lacks a home. Tired of bunkhouse life, and twenty-five-years-old, he is ready for a home of his own and a family. 

Polly Wyllie, Stephen's nineteen-year-old bookish daughter, has graduated from an academy for young ladies. Liam and Polly's fourteen-year-old brother, Samuel, are sent to escort her home. But their return to Wyllie Cattle Farm is endangered by a vicious hurricane-spawned thunderstorm that threatens their lives. The storm is only the beginning of the troubles and predicaments Polly and Liam must face while their attraction to each other grows. And when Liam brings a young orphan into their lives, their blossoming relationship grows even more complex. But the worst test Polly must face is one she never expected--shocking news that changes everything. 

Danger and beauty, trials and heroism, faith and family, at the heart of the American frontier. A sweet historical romance set against the stunning backdrop of the Kentucky wilderness. 

"There is no question, Dorothy Wiley is one of the best American Historical Romance writers today." - Amanda Hughes, bestselling historical romance author


AMERICAN WILDERNESS SERIES - Wyllie family brothers

Book One -WILDERNESS TRAIL OF LOVE
Book Two - NEW FRONTIER OF LOVE
Book Three - WHISPERING HILLS OF LOVE
Book Four - FRONTIERHIGHLANDER VOW OF LOVE
Book Five - FRONTIER GIFT OF LOVE
Book Six - THE BEAUTY OF LOVE

WILDERNESS HEARTS SERIES - Wyllie brothers and their grown children
Book One - LOVE'S NEW BEGINNING
Book Two - LOVE'S SUNRISE
Book Three - LOVE'S GLORY

Book Four - LOVE'S WHISPER 

Each book is a stand-alone, full-length novel featuring a different couple. For those who enjoy reading an entire series, you may want to start with Book One - WILDERNESS TRAIL OF LOVE.

 

My Review:

Polly Wyllie just graduated from an academy for young ladies and is on her way home after spending so much time away from her cattle rancher father, Stephen Wyllie. She meets up with friends and family along the way. She learns war may soon come to America which makes her miss her father and her brothers even more.

 

Liam Roberts is an honest, hard-working man who’s earned the respect of his boss, Stephen Wyllie. When Mr. Wyllie asks him to take his son and pick up his daughter, Polly, Liam doesn’t hesitate. When he first lays eyes on Polly, he knows he’s found the woman he wants to marry. She’s an intelligent beauty and he knows they’ll be happy together.

 

But this is the frontier where anything can (and does) happen. Between the drought, fierce wildlife, sickness and negotiating with the local Fort for the sale of cattle, Liam and Polly must overcome great odds to be together. Will they become a family or will the wilds of the frontier claim victory?

 

There’s something alluring about frontier life and the people who carved out a family while battling the land, the lawlessness and the faint whisper of love. It’s a hard life, harder than what we go through today, and I love reading it.

 

In Love’s Whisper, Dorothy Wiley creates an intriguing antagonist. It’s not a person but nature. The wildness of the frontier as well as the lure to go west make this an incredible page-turner. Even though I have not read any of the previous books in her two series, Dorothy Wiley fills in the backstory flawlessly so I know what’s going on.

 

The themes of heroism, hard work, family, faith and of course, love all play out in this story. The characters are fully developed, and I found myself quickly becoming attached to several characters. Baldy, Melly, Samuel to name a few.

 

What made this one of the best frontier romances I’ve read in a long time is the faith sub-plot. No matter what is happening or who it affects, God is there to see them through. Pain, death, injury is no match for the power of God’s love and protection. It’s not preachy in the least and it reminded me of Catherine Marshall’s books.

 

If you love Janette Oke and Larry McMurtry, this is a must-read! Highly recommend and can’t wait to read the next story in the series.

 

Favorite Character/Quote: “Most people aim their life at nothin’ in particular. And they achieve nothin’ in particular. Your father aims at the horizon. He is a dreamer as well as an adventurer. He will never be completely happy sittin’ still. He needs to be movin’. Findin’ the next hill to climb. Discoverin’ what’s around the next bend in the river. And he’ll do so until he finds the next piece of land that calls to him.”

 

My Rating: 5 stars

 

Buy it now:  

Amazon US https://www.amazon.com/LOVES-WHISPER-American-Historical-Wilderness-ebook/dp/B07D637DV6

 

Amazon CA https://www.amazon.ca/LOVES-WHISPER-American-Historical-Wilderness-ebook/dp/B07D637DV6

 

Amazon UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/LOVES-WHISPER-American-Historical-Wilderness-ebook/dp/B07D637DV6

 

Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/40187341-love-s-whisper

 

 

Author Biography:

Dorothy Wiley is the award-winning author of two Amazon bestselling series, the highly-acclaimed American Wilderness Series and the Wilderness Hearts Series. Wiley blends thrilling action-packed adventures with the romance of a moving love story to create exceedingly engaging page-turners. As she skillfully unravels a compelling tale, Wiley includes rich historical elements to create a vivid colonial world that celebrates the historical heritage of the American frontier and its courageous early settlers. Each book may be read independently and are enjoyed worldwide by readers of American historical romance and westerns.

Like Wiley’s compelling heroes, who from the onset make it clear they will not fail despite the adversities they face, this author is likewise destined for success. In the last three years, her novels have won numerous awards, notably a RONE Award Nominee, a 2016 Laramie Award Finalist, a Chatelaine Finalist for Romantic Fiction, an Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarter-finalist, a Readers’ Favorite Gold Medal, a USA Best Book Awards Finalist, and a Historical Novel Society Editor’s Choice. Her books continue to earn five-star ratings from readers and high praise from reviewers, including a Crowned Heart from InD’Tale Magazine.

Wiley’s extraordinary historical romances, inspired by history, teem with action and cliff-edge tension. Her books’ timeless messages of family and loyalty are both raw and honest. In all her novels, the author’s complex characters come alive and are joined by a memorable ensemble of friends and family. As she skillfully unravels a compelling tale, Wiley includes rich historical elements to create a vivid colonial world that celebrates the historical heritage of the frontier.

Wiley attended college at The University of Texas in Austin, Texas. She graduated with honors, receiving a bachelor of journalism, and grew to dearly love both Texas and a 7th-generation Texan, her husband Larry. Her husband’s courageous ancestors, early pioneers of Kentucky and Texas, provided the inspiration for her novels. After a distinguished career in corporate marketing and public relations, Wiley is living her dream—writing novels that touch the hearts of readers. All of Wiley’s books are available in print and eBooks at www.amazon.com/author/dorothywiley. For further information, please visit her website www.dorothywiley.com.

 

Social Media Links:

Website https://www.dorothywiley.com/

Newsletter Sign-Up http://madmimi.com/signups/171832/join

Blog https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8441725.Dorothy_Wiley/blog

Facebook http://www.facebook.com/AuthorDorothyWiley

https://www.facebook.com/DorothyMayWiley

Twitter https://twitter.com/WileyDorothy

Instagram https://www.instagram.com/dorothymwiley/

Bookbub https://www.bookbub.com/authors/dorothy-wiley

Pinterest  https://www.pinterest.com/dorothymwiley/

 

Reviewed by: Mrs. N

Please reload

Recent Posts

Please reload

We'd love to hear your thoughts. All comments are moderated to avoid spam. 
 

©2018-2019 BY N. N. LIGHT. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. PROUDLY CREATED WITH WIX.COM