"Best Book of the Series!" The Du Lac Prophecy by Award-Winning @MaryAnneYarde #historicalfiction #bookreview #iartg

October 5, 2018

 

Title: The Du Lac Prophecy

Author: Mary Anne Yarde

Genre: Historical Fiction

 

Book Blurb:

Two Prophesies. Two Noble Households. One Throne.

 

Distrust and greed threaten to destroy the House of du Lac. Mordred Pendragon strengthens his hold on Brittany and the surrounding kingdoms while Alan, Mordred’s cousin, embarks on a desperate quest to find Arthur’s lost knights. Without the knights and the relics they hold in trust, they cannot defeat Arthur’s only son – but finding the knights is only half of the battle. Convincing them to fight on the side of the Du Lac’s, their sworn enemy, will not be easy.

 

If Alden, King of Cerniw, cannot bring unity there will be no need for Arthur’s knights. With Budic threatening to invade Alden’s Kingdom, Merton putting love before duty, and Garren disappearing to goodness knows where, what hope does Alden have? If Alden cannot get his House in order, Mordred will destroy them all.

 

My Review:

Merton and the others have successfully rescued Amandine from the clutches of Philippe and Mordred. Merton’s thankful she’s safe but like a dove without wings, she’s petrified of her own shadow. She can’t fly away, only rock back and forth while the demons inside her head continue to torture her. Merton knows the only way to heal her is to take her away from Dor so he makes the decision to leave Alden on the brink of war and make the trek to Teagan’s home.

 

The House of du Lac is crumbling around Alden’s feet and with his brothers fleeing, Josephine spewing hateful lies, Annis questioning his devotion and his kingdom in jeopardy of attack on all sides, Alden is making the same mistakes his father, Lancelot, did all those years ago. War is coming to Cerniw and he must be ready.

 

Alan, the Keeper of the Blade, is on a quest to unite Arthur’s knights and relics in order to fulfill the prophecy and defeat Arthur’s only son, Mordred. Right before he leaves Cerniw, he spends time with the beautiful nun who has captured his heart. Bernice confesses her love for him and offers to save herself for when he returns. Fate deems Alan and Bernice are destined to be together and no matter what happens, they will be united. Will Alan be successful in his quest or will his journey to Wessex take his life as well?

 

I’ve followed this series from the beginning and whenever there’s a new installment, I inhale it. From the riveting historical characters to the folklore surrounding Arthur, Lancelot and Briton to the wickedness of the Catholic church makes this a must read. There’s a lot going on and like an addict, I loved every minute of it. Josephine makes an appearance and like a viper, lashes out to any du Lac leaving her poison to eat away at their souls. Mordred is the cruelest character I’ve had the pleasure to read. His evil ways chilled me to the bone.

 

Courage and strength of will are two of the themes in The Du Lac Prophecy. Many characters must choose which path they’re going to take. Will they fight or run away? I’m reminded of one of my favorite quotes:

 

“If it’s death from a Saxon hand that frightens you, stay home.” – Tristran from King Arthur (movie)

 

Mary Anne Yarde has outdone herself in The Du Lac Prophecy. Brilliantly written with incredible historical research, this is a must-read. Even with a cliffhanger ending, this is the best book out of the whole series. Fans of Game and Thrones and The Vikings will fall in love with this book!

 

My Rating: 5+ stars

 

Buy it now:  

Amazon US https://www.amazon.com/Du-Lac-Prophecy-Book-Chronicles-ebook/dp/B07GDS3HPJ

 

Amazon CA https://www.amazon.ca/Du-Lac-Prophecy-Book-Chronicles-ebook/dp/B07GDS3HPJ

 

Amazon UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/Du-Lac-Prophecy-Book-Chronicles-ebook/dp/B07GDS3HPJ

 

Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/41140570-the-du-lac-prophecy

 

 

Author Biography:

Mary Anne Yarde is the multi award-winning author of the International Bestselling series — The Du Lac Chronicles.


Yarde grew up in the southwest of England, surrounded and influenced by centuries of history and mythology. Glastonbury — the fabled Isle of Avalon — was a mere fifteen-minute drive from her home, and tales of King Arthur and his knights were a part of her childhood.

 

Social Media Links:

Website/Blog: https://maryanneyarde.blogspot.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/maryanneyarde/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/maryanneyarde

Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/Mary-Anne-Yarde/e/B01C1WFATA/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/15018472.Mary_Anne_Yarde

 

Reviewed by: Mrs. N

Please reload

Recent Posts

Please reload

We'd love to hear your thoughts. All comments are moderated to avoid spam. 
 

©2018-2019 BY N. N. LIGHT. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. PROUDLY CREATED WITH WIX.COM