Book Review | For This Knight Only by @BarbaraBettis #medieval #historicalromance #bookreview

April 5, 2019

 

Title: For This Knight Only

Author: Barbara Bettis

Genre: Medieval Romance, Historical Romance

 

Book Blurb:

He’ll do anything for land, even marry her; she’ll do anything for her people, except marry him.  If only either had a choice.  It’s a marriage only love can save.

 

Sir Roark will do anything to gain land, even beguile an unwilling lady into marriage. He knows she’s much better off with a man to take control of her besieged castle, to say nothing of her desirable person. But it isn’t long before he discovers that, although her eyes sparkle like sunlight on sea waves, her stubbornness alone could have defeated Saladin.  

 

Lady Alyss is determined to hold her family’s castle, protect her people, and preserve her freedom— until her brother’s dying wish binds her to a stranger. Still, she’ll allow no rugged, over-confident, appealing knight to usurp her authority, even if she must wed him. Especially since he thinks a lady’s duties begin and end with directing servants. Alyss has a few surprises for her new all-too-tempting lord.

 

But when a common enemy threatens everything, Roark and Alyss face a startling revelation. Without love, neither land nor freedom matters.

 

My Review:

With her brother gone to fight with King Richard and her father taken to his death bed, Lady Alyss must protect her people and secure Chauvere Castle. Under a barrage of attacks, she stands tall and wins every battle. She knows she’s defenseless against the power of Sir John once news surfaces about her father’s death. But when Sir Roark shows up suddenly with a death bed plea, she’s unsure what to believe. Did he truly know her brother, Henry, or is this just a ploy to get under her skirts and take possession of her lands? A marriage of convenience it may be, but she’ll never give her heart to Sir Roark or will she discover true strength lies in building a life together with Sir Roark?

 

This story captured my heart from the very first page. Set in a time period where women were property and any man with the strength and fortitude could secure lands and titles, For This Knight Only is a breath of fresh air. A strong heroine with a backbone to rival the greatest knight, a hero searching for a place to call his own. . . it’s a battle of sexes set in medieval times.

 

Breathtaking descriptive narration with historical accuracy right down to cutlery, this is a must-read. The romance, while set against a battle-strewn landscape, melted my heart. The action, suspense and drama combine to make this one of the best medieval romances I’ve read in a very long time. Emotional, gripping with a few twists I didn’t see coming, For This Knight Only will keep you turning the pages to the conclusion.

 

Perfect for fans of Robin Hood and medieval times, For This Knight Only is a gem.

 

Favorite Character/Quote: Lady Alyss. She’s such a strong woman who has had to deal with so much in her young life. She’s spunky, intelligent and I loved her. But as the book went along, she learned valuable lessons about the softer side of being a woman and that true strength lies within the arms of love.

 

My Rating: 5 stars

 

Buy it Now:   

Amazon US: https://amzn.to/2Xlzynj 

   B&N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/books/1130577337?ean=2940161315842

 

iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/for-this-knight-only/id1453327255?mt=11

 

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/44221231-for-this-knight-only

 

Bookbub: https://www.bookbub.com/books/for-this-knight-only-by-barbara-bettis

 

 

Author Biography:

A former health insurance claims adjuster, a former journalist, a former journalism and English professor, Barbara Bettis plans never to be a “former” author. Now retired, Barb lives in Missouri where she writes, edits for others, and spends as much time as possible with grandchildren, who are growing up much too quickly.

 

Social Media Links:

http://barbarabettis.com

 

www.barbarabettis.blogspot.com

 

https://www.facebook.com/BarbaraBettisAuthor  

 

www.twitter.com/BarbaraBettis

 

https://www.bookbub.com/authors/barbara-bettis

 

Reviewed by: Mrs. N

Please reload

Recent Posts

Please reload

We'd love to hear your thoughts. All comments are moderated to avoid spam. 
 

©2018-2019 BY N. N. LIGHT. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. PROUDLY CREATED WITH WIX.COM