• N. N. Light

4.75 stars for The Man in Cabin Number Five by @chrysteen_braun #womensfiction #bookish #bookreview



Title: The Man in Cabin Number Five -- The Guest Book Trilogy, Book One

Author: Chrysteen Braun

Genre: Women's Domestic Life Fiction, Women’s Fiction


Book Blurb:


Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty's The Husband's Secret and Linda Holmes's Evvie Drake Starts Over.


When Annie Parker discovers her husband’s infidelity, she doesn’t let it destroy her. She packs her bags and heads to Lake Arrowhead, California, the mountainside town where her family used to summer. Immersing herself in the restoration of seven 1920s-era cabins, Annie begins to put the pieces of her life back together. But starting over is never easy.


Alyce Murphy needs closure. When she discovers her father did not die from a heart attack, as she’s been led to believe for the last 30 years, but in a murder/suicide, she is determined to uncover the truth of his death. But when she visits the cabin where her father ended his life, Alyce has to accept she may never know the true story. Annie is looking toward her future while Alyce needs to put the past to rest. In parallel stories, both women are drawn to the rustic mountainside cabins as they search for the missing pieces—but they soon discover that the cabins have their own stories to tell.


My Review:


Simply the most compelling women's fiction on the market today. The author conveys the trials and tribulations a woman deals with beautifully. Emotive and powerful, readers are just swept up in the storylines.


A real-life tale that evokes memories for those who lived in those periods. The seminal point here is just because someone is related to you doesn't mean you have to like them or spend time with them. If someone is a total jerk sober then their substance abuse doesn't excuse them for being a waste of space.


The two female characters featured seem like two ships that pass in the night. Truly one is an ocean liner crossing a vast sea and the other is the little tugboat. The ocean liner is alone on a 4-week voyage and only meets the tug for five minutes as it docks.


If there is an issue with this book, it is with the last 8%. For this reader, the imposition of that section was nothing short of jarring and didn't come off as being part of the natural flow of the book.


Recommended to fans of women's fiction. Recommended to fans of women's saga writing. An excellent addition to this genre. The second book in this series will be much awaited by readers of the first.


My Rating: 4.75 stars


Buy it Now:

Paperback: https://www.amazon.com/Man-Cabin-Number-Five-Guestbook/dp/1647044626


Hardcover: https://www.amazon.com/Man-Cabin-Number-Five-Guestbook/dp/1647044642


Kindle: https://www.amazon.com/Man-Cabin-Number-Five-Guestbook-ebook/dp/B09Y9KGZ3R


B&N Paperback: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-man-in-cabin-number-five-chrysteen-braun/1141373079?ean=9781647044626


Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/the-man-in-cabin-five


Indigo: https://www.chapters.indigo.ca/en-ca/books/the-man-in-cabin-five/9781647044633-item.html


Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/60846797-the-man-in-cabin-number-five


Author Biography:


Chrysteen Braun is a California native, born and raised in Long Beach.


The mountains, where she and her husband had a second home, were the inspiration for her first three books, The Cabin Trilogy. These fictional restored cabins from the late 1920s all had their own stories to tell.


Her writing crosses genres of Women’s Fiction with relationships, and a little mystery and intrigue. She’s published articles about her field of interior design and remodeling, both for trade publications and her local newspaper.


She lives in Coto de Caza, with her husband Larry and two Siamese cats.

Contact her at chrysteenbraun@gmail.com or www.chrysteenbraun.com


Social Media Links:


Website https://chrysteenbraun.com

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/chrysteenbraunauthor

Instagram https://www.instagram.com/chrysteenbraunauthor/

Pinterest https://www.pinterest.com/designingwhims

Newsletter https://chrysteenbraun.us4.list-manage.com/subscribe?u=24aaf5fa0e5cbe72f864db7c3&id=a947f0d43c


Reviewed by: Mr. N