top of page
  • N. N. Light

The Northern Wolf Series: Books 1-5 is an April 99 cents Sale Bookish Event pick #histfic #99cents



Title: The Northern Wolf Series: Books 1-5


Author: Daniel Greene


Genre: Historical Fiction, Military Fiction, Historical Thriller


Book Blurb:


The complete Northern Wolf series all in one boxset. Over 1500 pages of award-winning military historical fiction. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Ralph Peters, Michael Shaara, Griff Hosker, and Matthew Harffy.


A broken man will be forged in the flames of war.


Johannes Wolf. Immigrant. Soldier. Unlikely Hero — Wolf's company are the kind of men that get the dirty work done needed to win the war that divided America. Ride through the American Civil War with Wolf’s motley crew of daring Union raiders, and enjoy fast-paced, non-stop war fiction at the pointy end of a saber!


Northern Wolf - A maimed young man with no prospects swindles his way into the Army of the Potomac, and along with a host of green recruits is placed into the Michigan Cavalry Brigade. Riding for Gettysburg, they find themselves holding the rear of the Union line and face to face with JEB Stuart and his Invincibles.


Northern Hunt - Johannes Wolf has made a crucial mistake. He's volunteered for a secret raid, dragging along with him, his unit of misfits. They fall under the command of Colonel Ulric Dahlgren and set out on a quest for redemption and vengeance that will strike at the head of the Southern Cause.


Northern Blood - In the Spring of 1864, a daring raid is devised to draw the Confederate cavalry into a winner-take-all showdown. The Union needs a group of soldiers just brazen enough to do it or die trying. Libby Prison's most recent escapee, Johannes Wolf, and his unit of misfits, might just be the ones to get the job done - if Red Shirts don’t kill them first.


Northern Dawn - Promoted, Wolf finds himself in the hot seat of the largest all-cavalry battle of the war near Trevilian Station. Isolated and surrounded can they survive the coming Southern storm? Or will they be overrun and annihilated, a mere footnote in history?


Northern Shadows - With the surrender of Robert E. Lee,Wolf's war isn't over. Diehard rebels still operate in the field, led by the secret organization the Knights of the Golden Circle. Their plot? Kill the president and let the war rage on. Wolf and his men rush to Washington, D.C., to meet the enemy head-on. But these enemies do not march and fight as armies do; they lurk in the shadows waiting to strike.


Praise for the Northern Wolf series –


Greene has set the bar impossibly high -- no one writes about the American Civil war the way he does.” - Coffee Pot Book Club Review


Overall, I would highly recommend Northern Blood to fans of atmospheric and immersive Civil War fiction, likable characters with fantastic dialogue, and for historical military novel enthusiasts everywhere." - Readers' Favorite, 5-star review


The pacing is perfect. The action scenes are tense. You are on the edge of your seat over and over.” - N.N. Light’s Book Heaven


Excerpt:


The wind tugged at the standard of F Company of the 13th Michigan. Roughly thirty-two inches high, seventy inches long, and a dove of thirty-one inches to staff. The red was blood-vibrant over the field of pitch black. The golden wolf head snarled fiercely against the ebony cloth. It said nothing else. There were no crossed sabers, as designated cavalry guidons were supposed to bear, nor numbers and letters of their unit and company. Only a golden wolf baring its teeth at the enemy. Today, the first sergeant had carried it, and he’d been butchered in their last charge. Now, it was Wolf’s turn to bear the company colors. Let them take it if they can.


The ground churned beneath their horses. It was a race to reach the Southerners first, each trooper trying to gain strides on the general that charged so blindly into harm’s way ahead of the rest.


Billy’s chest heaved beneath Wolf as he galloped, his muscle flexing with each step of the horse’s stride. The animal must be tired after the first charge and now Wolf was asking the horse to repeat his performance. Without a horse, Wolf would be ridden down. A crippled man with little future in the infantry. Billy was his lifeblood to war, and he led him again into the Confederate swell surging over the pastures, knowing this could be their last ride.


Rebel yells turned to demon screams as the collision between the cavalrymen became a guarantee. It was normal to protect one’s horse, but all the men knew what was at stake and fully committed to the charge.


Wolf found himself bellowing like a wild banshee, the wind whipping his flag and his clothes. The other men picked up the cheer, forcing it back upon the encroaching rebels. It was the only way a man sometimes could steel himself before putting his terrestrial body in death’s harrowing sights. It gave him the courage to fight and kill another man, and if need be die with his head held high. And the opposing men braced for impact.


There was a fraction of a second before the two forces met that everything slipped into slow-motion. It was as if time and space stopped. The fierce, defiant screams of men, the quake of hooves, sabers outstretched suspending in the air, all captured Wolf’s mind, holding it hostage. The man’s eyes across from him were an almost sky blue. His teeth mostly white. His cheeks covered with a short, blond beard. The young rebel’s saber veered downward and he closed his eyes at the last second as if it could protect him from the violence.


Wolf did the opposite. His eyes stared into the oncoming madness as the front ranks of mounted men slammed into one another with a mighty crack that was heard in the heavens. It sounded like a hundred-foot wave crashing into the shore or a line of timber falling to the earth. The opposing men were a struggle of oil and water, with only one rising to the surface. The rebel across from Wolf blurred by.


Horses toppled, men were thrown to the ground and sabers flashed as riders moved past one another. The second and third rows of men pushed into the front, but they had slowed down to avoid fallen men and mounts alike.


Like a fist to the gut, the Union horsemen punched into the Confederate line, folding them to the flanks. The 1st Michigan continued through the lines of rebels, cutting them, but the rookie 7th and 13th stalled within the rank and file of rebel horsemen absorbing the forceful impact of the Union soldiers.


A rebel in a butternut coat took a swing at Wolf with a saber, the blade splitting the air. He parried the saber strike with the flagpole, the enemy’s sword shaving a piece free. He yanked Billy’s reins to the side, away from the man. Another rebel in an open red shirt wrapped a hand around the flagpole in an attempt to steal the colors. Fire barked from Wolf’s Colt as he shot into the center of the rebel’s crimson chest.


The rebel flinched, but didn’t release the staff as darker crimson stained his shirt. The horseman dropped his gun and used both hands on the guidon. Growling into the man’s face, Wolf spurred Billy away, and together they dragged the man out of his saddle. The Red Shirt fell to the earth and disappeared into the bloody grass and dust.


Frantic seconds passed as Wolf scanned for members of his unit. Blue- and gray-clad men seethed in the chaos of war and the scintillate swipes of sabers. The 1st Michigan had reengaged the rebels on a flank. The booming of cannon ripped into the rebel rear, driving the horsemen deeper into the mass of Federal cavalry.


Buy Links (including Goodreads and BookBub):


The e-book boxset that is normally priced 9.99 is on sale for 99 cents. The reader is getting 1600 pages, an entire series, for less than a dollar!







What makes your featured book a must-read?


Readers’ opinions:


I honestly think this work will be able to sit comfortably on a book shelf next to WEB Griffin's Brotherhood of War.”


“Being a Civil War buff and a one-time reenactor, I found this book to be very intriguing and a quick read... It centers primarily around the battle of Gettysburg and the engagements surrounding the battlefield which determined the final outcome of the bloodiest battle in American history. Well written and RECOMMENDED.”


“Northern Wolf brings to vivid life what too many consider a "side show" of the battle of Gettysburg, the crucial cavalry battle east of town on July 3, with lead up engagements in Hunterstown on July 2, and Hanover a few days earlier. His portrayal of both officers and troopers is detailed and plausible. I'm reminded of John Keegan's "The Face of Battle" as Greene delved into the inner psychology of men in deadly struggle. So for me it's on to the sequel "Northern Hunt".


Giveaway –

Enter to win a $20 Amazon gift card:

Open Internationally. You must have a valid Amazon US or Amazon Canada account to win. Runs April 11 – April 18, 2023. Winner will be drawn on April 19, 2023.



Author Biography:


Daniel is the award-winning author of The End Time Saga and the historical fiction Northern Wolf Series. Whether it’s a saber charge in the American Civil War or a gun battle between two rival bands surviving a hellish landscape, he is known for his ability to embed every page with fast-paced action, thrilling suspense, and gritty realism.


He is an avid traveler and physical fitness enthusiast with a deep passion for history. The works of George R.R. Martin, Steven Pressfield, Bernard Cornwell, Robert Jordan, and George Romero, have inspired his work. Although he is a Midwesterner for life, he's lived in Virginia long enough to consider it home.


He is a proud member of the Horror Writers Association, the Historical Novel Society, and the Military Writers Society of America.


Contact him on his Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/DanielGreenebooks/



Social Media Links:



1 Comment


N. N. Light
N. N. Light
Apr 11, 2023

Thank you, Daniel, for sharing your book sale in our April 99c Sale Bookish Event! It's such a great series!

Like
bottom of page