5 stars for Alessia in Atlantis - The Forbidden Vial by @NathalieLaine1 #mglit #middlegrade #fantasy



Title: Alessia in Atlantis - The Forbidden Vial

Author: Nathalie Laine

Genre: Middle-Grade Fantasy


Book Blurb:


A fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Keeper of the Lost Cities and Percy Jackson.

It’s not unusual for twelve-year-old Alessia to lose control of her emotions and create a scene at school.

It is unusual when one day she’s attacked there by a giant frog monster and plunged into the underwater realm of Atlantis in an overturned boat.

On arriving in Atlantis, she learns that her long-lost father may have been from there. Determined to investigate, she stays and enrolls in Atlantide school: The Octopus’s Garden.

But uncovering the truth is not easy when the tyrannical Atlantide Emperor forbids asking about missing people. With the help of her newfound school friends, Alessia will have to steal evidence from a grumpy teacher, escape from rebel merfolk and make rhymes with menacing blue people of Minch to discover the key to her past.

Meanwhile, someone knows exactly who she’s the daughter of, and is ready to kill her for it.


My Review:


Twelve-year-old Alessia has difficulty controlling her emotions in class and it leads to humiliating scenes at school. But when a giant frog kidnaps her and pulls her underwater to Atlantis, Alessia is in for an adventure. She discovers her father may have been from Atlantis, so she chooses to enroll in Atlantide school to investigate. Finding the truth is like yanking teeth but Alessia enlists the help of her new school friends to help her. There’s an enemy hidden who wants the truth of Alessia’s father kept secret, who will stop at nothing to make sure Alessia fails. Can Alessia reveal the key to her past or will have no choice but to stay quiet?


Alessia in Atlantis is an imaginative underwater adventure kids will love. As the story unfolds, readers will not only relate to the struggles Alessia goes through but can go on a great adventure. Descriptive narration pulls the reader into the story, especially the Atlantis scenes. The plot is fairly easy to follow which works perfectly for the targeted audience: kids. The world-building is imaginative and allows the reader to escape into a fantasy world. Note to parents: there’s some bullying but it’s age-appropriate. I thoroughly enjoyed Alessia in Atlantis and look forward to more adventures in the series. Fans of the Percy Jackson series will love Alessia in Atlantis. Highly recommend!


My Rating: 5 stars


Buy it Now:

Amazon US https://www.amazon.com/Alessia-Atlantis-Forbidden-Vial/dp/1736170473/


Amazon CA https://www.amazon.ca/Alessia-Atlantis-Forbidden-Vial/dp/1736170473/


Amazon UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/Alessia-Atlantis-Forbidden-Vial/dp/1736170473/


Apple https://books.apple.com/us/book/alessia-in-atlantis/id1544152510


Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/55987724-alessia-in-atlantis


BookBub https://www.bookbub.com/books/alessia-in-atlantis-by-nathalie-laine



Author Biography:


Nathalie Laine is a children's fantasy author. She lives a safe distance away from the ocean, in Paris, France, where she works in marketing. She enjoys: poking her finger into the mini whirlpools that form above bath drains, randomly understanding words in a language she doesn't know, wrongly guessing the double-agent in cold war spy stories, sharing a Turkish meal of Lion's milk, fish and turnip juice with her fiancé and friends, and getting spurned by grumpy cats. She may have snuck some of the above into her novel, Alessia in Atlantis: The Forbidden Vial. She is a graduate of the London School of Economics (BSc Management 2010).


Social Media Links:


Website https://nathalielaine.com

Newsletter https://nathalielaine.com/join-the-mailing-list/

Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/20876817.Nathalie_Laine

Twitter https://twitter.com/NathalieLaine1


Reviewed by: Mrs. N

©2018-2021 BY N. N. LIGHT. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. PROUDLY CREATED WITH WIX.COM