5 stars for Northern Hunt (Northern Wolf Book 2) by Daniel Greene #historicalfiction #civilwar



Title: Northern Hunt (Northern Wolf Series Book 2)

Author: Daniel Greene

Genre: Historical Fiction, Civil War


Book Blurb:


It was a surefire raid to free prisoners, but it will soon become a battle for Wolf's soul. When an escaped Northern prisoner reaches Union lines, his tales of abuse at Libby Prison set up the perfect justifications for a daring raid on Richmond. Johannes Wolf has made a crucial mistake. He's volunteered for a secret raid, dragging along with him, his unit of misfits. They fall under the command of Colonel Ulric Dahlgren and set out on a quest for redemption and vengeance that will strike at the head of the Southern Cause. Will they become famous for their glorious raid as knights of the North? Or will they become savages? Or even forgotten corpses buried in a shallow grave? Continue the Northern Wolf series and immerse yourself into America's historical battle for her heart and soul, packed with grueling choices, epic battles, and the horror of war. Fans of Bernard Cornwell, Griff Hosker, Michael Shaara, and Steven Pressfield will love the newest installment of the Northern Wolf Series.


My Review:


In the second book in this incredible series, the reader gets to continue to follow Wolf in his journey through the cauldron of the US Civil War. This time, Daniel Greene takes the reader on a rarely discussed raid on Richmond.


Brilliantly researched, Northern Hunt drips realism. The true horrors of war are brought to the forefront. You really get an accurate feel for the brutality of war from reading this tale. Once more, the fictional characters are seamlessly woven into historical facts. It isn't long before you will believe that men from Michigan's 13th were taking part in this historic raid.


A must-read if you had the privilege of reading the first book, Northern Wolf. I truly enjoyed the chapters on Wade Hampton again. A very well-written work. Recommended to fans of historical fiction. Recommended to readers who enjoy military fiction. A gritty book that rewards the reader for the act of reading.


My Rating: 5 stars


Buy it Now:

Amazon US https://www.amazon.com/Northern-Hunt-Wolf-Book-ebook/dp/B07X89SRGJ


Amazon CA https://www.amazon.ca/Northern-Hunt-Wolf-Book-ebook/dp/B07X89SRGJ


Amazon UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/Northern-Hunt-Wolf-Book-ebook/dp/B07X89SRGJ


Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/52053121-northern-hunt


BookBub https://www.bookbub.com/books/northern-hunt-northern-wolf-series-book-2-by-daniel-greene



Author Biography:


Daniel is the award-winning author of The End Time Saga and the historical fiction Northern Wolf Series. Whether it’s a saber charge in the American Civil War or a gun battle between two rival bands surviving a hellish landscape, he is known for his ability to embed every page with fast-paced action, thrilling suspense, and gritty realism.


He is an avid traveler and physical fitness enthusiast with a deep passion for history. The works of George R.R. Martin, Steven Pressfield, Bernard Cornwell, Robert Jordan, and George Romero have inspired his work. Although he is a Midwesterner for life, he's lived in Virginia long enough to consider it home.


He is a proud member of the Horror Writers Association, the Historical Novel Society, and the Military Writers Society of America.


Social Media Links:


https://www.facebook.com/DanielGreenebooks/

https://www.facebook.com/groups/473698509874575

https://www.instagram.com/danielgreenebooks/

http://www.danielgreenebooks.com/


Reviewed by: Mr. N