5 stars for Northern Shadows by Daniel Greene #historicalthriller #histfic #bookreview



Title: Northern Shadows (Northern Wolf Series Book 5)

Author: Daniel Greene

Genre: Historical Thriller, Historical Fiction


Book Blurb:


Not all adversaries go quietly into the long cold night... Entrapped and snared by Union forces, General Lee has surrendered. Celebrations take hold of the North as the Confederacy crumbles without their hero. Yet Wolf's war isn't over. Diehard rebels still operate in the field, led by the secret organization the Knights of the Golden Circle, including Wolf's nemesis, Marshall Payne. Their plot? Kill the president and let the war rage on. Wolf and his men rush to Washington, D.C., to meet the enemy head-on. But these enemies do not march and fight as armies do; they lurk in the shadows waiting to strike. Can Wolf and his motley crew keep the assassins at bay? The epic finale of the bestselling and award-winning military historical fiction series is filled with danger, conspiracy, and revenge as the North's most unlikely heroes are tasked with the impossible. For fans of Bernard Cornwell, Michael and Jeff Shaara, Matthew Harffy, Steven Pressfield, and Simon Scarrow. Start today!


My Review:


This last chapter in the Northern Wolf tales was worth the wait. Once again, the author's writing skill makes the pages seem like a Civil War historical nonfiction book and not a novel. Reading the book, it is difficult to believe that Capt. Wolf wasn't at Appomattox Court House.


This book is the compelling conclusion to a tale that has to be considered one of the best fictional accounts of the US Civil War. Having read all parts, I can commend the continuity. This is a significant achievement that many writers and screenwriters cannot accomplish. That the reader can recognize immediately who the characters are is the sign of a well-written book.


The core of this book focuses on the assassination of Lincoln and the subsequent law enforcement actions to bring traitors to justice. This part of the book is gripping and keeps the reader glued to the book. A book that is fittingly the conclusion to this series. Arguably the best book since the brilliant first book. If the author is looking for a new idea...Wolf's son could fight in the Spanish American War and Wolf's grandson could be a doughboy...


Recommended to fans of the Northern Wolf series. If you have read the others, you MUST read this one. Recommended to fans of President Lincoln and the history of that time. A first-rate book that is a great final chapter to this storied series.


My Rating: 5 stars


Buy it Now:

Amazon US https://www.amazon.com/Northern-Shadows-Wolf-Book-ebook/dp/B08H3C9L6T


Amazon CA https://www.amazon.ca/Northern-Shadows-Wolf-Book-ebook/dp/B08H3C9L6T


Amazon UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/Northern-Shadows-Wolf-Book-ebook/dp/B08H3C9L6T


Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/58940265-northern-shadows


BookBub https://www.bookbub.com/books/northern-shadows-northern-wolf-series-book-5-by-daniel-greene



Author Biography:


Daniel is the award-winning author of The End Time Saga and the historical fiction Northern Wolf Series. Whether it’s a saber charge in the American Civil War or a gun battle between two rival bands surviving a hellish landscape, he is known for his ability to embed every page with fast-paced action, thrilling suspense, and gritty realism.


He is an avid traveler and physical fitness enthusiast with a deep passion for history. The works of George R.R. Martin, Steven Pressfield, Bernard Cornwell, Robert Jordan, and George Romero have inspired his work. Although he is a Midwesterner for life, he's lived in Virginia long enough to consider it home.


He is a proud member of the Horror Writers Association, the Historical Novel Society, and the Military Writers Society of America.


Social Media Links:


https://www.facebook.com/DanielGreenebooks/

https://www.facebook.com/groups/473698509874575

https://www.instagram.com/danielgreenebooks/

http://www.danielgreenebooks.com/


Reviewed by: Mr. N

0 comments