top of page
  • N. N. Light

5+ stars for Once Upon a Summer Night by Kyra Jacobs #romance #sweetromance #bookreview #newrelease



Title: Once Upon a Summer Night

Author: Kyra Jacobs

Genre: Contemporary Sweet Romance

 

Book Blurb:

 

Home is a refuge—but is it always the right choice?

 

Hannah Brooks left home eight summers ago to help her friend Beth hide a surprise pregnancy. Their unplanned adventure also helped her escape from beneath her fire chief father’s thumb. Now Beth has died and Hannah faces a brewing custody battle for Noah, the boy she helped raise from birth. It’s time to return to Bourbon Falls and make amends with the family she loves and needs.

 

Chase Redding finally gave up hope of ever seeing Hannah again, and is focused on being part owner of Oak Barrel Farms and climbing the ranks in his firefighting career. But now that she’s back, he’ll do anything to convince her to stay in their hometown, even if it means sharing his beloved fire station.

 

But amid their budding romance at Brooks Farm, family tensions resurface and the custody suit takes a turn for the worst. It’s going to take a little summertime magic to keep Hannah and Chase’s happily ever after from slipping away a second time.

 

My Review:

 

Can Hannah return to Bourbon Falls and seek the help she desperately needs? Will Hannah retain custody of little Noah while giving her heart to Chase or will she lose everyone she’s ever loved? Once Upon a Summer Night is a second-chance romance that is an emotional roller coaster ride. Kyra Jacobs brings custody rights after a death to light, and it tore my heart out. The descriptive narration is poignant and allows the reader to go deep into the story. The romance is second chance and it’s very touching. Truly, Once Upon a Summer Night is an unforgettable romance.

 

At the heart of this story is a little boy who’s lost his mother. He needs a home, a family, someplace to feel safe. Little Noah steals every scene he’s in along with my heart. His character is so real, so honest, so well written.

 

Hannah is the heroine, and she needs help to keep Noah. She returns to her hometown and her family. Hannah is one of the strongest heroines I’ve ever read. The weight of the world is on her shoulders, but does she have to carry it alone?

 

Chase is the hero and he’s got such a big heart. I fell hard for him. He’s an honorable man who loves both Hannah and Noah.

 

This is my first time reading Kyra Jacobs. I must confess how much I thoroughly enjoyed it. Her writing skill is flawless. She’s a true storyteller and her characters fly off the page and into your heart. After reading Once Upon a Summer Night, I have to go back and read the rest of the series.

 

Fans of Debbie Macomber and Jenny Hale will love this book.

 

My Rating: 5+ stars

 

Buy it Now:   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author Biography:

 

Kyra Jacobs is an extroverted introvert who’s always called Indiana home. Growing up in the Midwest means she’s well-versed in fickle weather, pork tenderloins that don’t fit on a bun, and sarcasm. Putting her Indiana University degrees in Public Management to good use by day means Kyra does the bulk of her writing late into the night. Fueled by caffeine and funny memes, she weaves humor and chaos into her stories, which range from sweet romance to mysteries and even paranormal/fantasy.

 

When this Hoosier native isn’t at a keyboard, daydreaming through her fingertips, she's likely outside, elbow-deep in snapdragons or spending quality time with her sports-loving family. Kyra also loves to bowl, tries to golf, and is an avid college football fan. Be sure to stop by kyrajacobsbooks.com to learn more about her novels and ways to connect with Kyra on social media.

 

Social Media Links:

 

 

Reviewed by: Nancy

Comments


bottom of page