4.75 stars for The Seven Hungers: Rise of the Crimson King by @morgan_quaid #darkfantasy #horror



Title: The Seven Hungers: Rise of the Crimson King

Author: Morgan Quaid

Genre: Dark Fantasy, Fantasy Thriller, Horror, Epic Fantasy


Book Blurb:


Censured Crown sorcerer Ambrose Drake is hired to investigate a bizarre emergence in a city halfway across the world from his native London. Drake soon learns that a being from one of the Seven Hungers beneath our world is attempting to cross over. Flanked by his ex-lover and betrayer, Agent Karen Winter and a young acolyte with a severe lack of magical ability, Drake must plunge once more into the depths to save humanity.

The Seven Hungers is a fast-paced fantasy thriller which blends sorcery, horror elements and the exploration of dark new worlds with intense emotional struggle.

Perfect for fans of The Laundry Files, Rivers of London and Dead Things.


My Review:


It’s time to save the world again but Ambrose isn’t sure what is worse, battling dark entities from the Seven Hungers or teaming up with his ex, Karen. Ambrose is desperate to get his magical powers restored, even if it means taking on an assignment halfway around the world. What starts out as odd occurrences soon turns into a battle to save the world. With the help of his ex-lover, Karen, as well as a rag-tag team of sidekicks, Ambrose will go up against unseen dark worlds all to save humanity. Will he succeed and regain his powers, or will he die trying to save the world?


The Seven Hungers is a rip-roaring fantasy thriller from start to finish. With classic fantasy, horror, magical realism elements, The Seven Hungers will appeal to readers on so many levels. I connected with Ambrose and thoroughly enjoyed him throughout the story. I didn’t feel the same way about Karen. I found her character off-putting and disjointed. I had a hard time wrapping my mind around the romance between her and Ambrose. It seemed like an afterthought to the author. What I adored was the fast-paced plot, the emotional narration, and the intricate world-building. Each of these elements combined to make The Seven Hungers an incredible fantasy thriller. There’s a Lovecraft vibe to the story which increased my enjoyment while reading ten-fold. If you’re a fantasy reader, you’ll love The Seven Hungers. If you’re an urban fantasy reader, you’ll want to read The Seven Hungers. If you crave some serious horror, The Seven Hungers is your next book to read.


My Rating: 4.75 stars


Buy it Now:

Amazon US https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09QPMQFZ6


Amazon CA https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B09QPMQFZ6


Amazon UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B09QPMQFZ6


Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/60186825-the-seven-hungers


BookBub https://www.bookbub.com/books/the-seven-hungers-rise-of-the-crimson-king-by-morgan-quaid



Author Biography:


Morgan [the] Quaid

Morgan Quaid is an Australian-based writer of speculative fiction, fantasy and horror, specializing in fast-paced page turners set against expansive fantasy backdrops. Quaid writes comics, graphic novels, short stories volumes and novels.


Some of Quaid's current and upcoming works include:

  • Whiplash (Novel Series)

  • The Blood Below (Comic Series/Novel)

  • Shadow's Daughter (Comic Series/Novel)

  • The Script Rebellion (Graphic Novel)

  • The Seven Hungers (Novel Series)


Social Media Links:


https://www.facebook.com/morganquaidwrites

https://twitter.com/morgan_quaid

https://www.instagram.com/morganquaid/

https://www.pinterest.com.au/morganquaidwrites


Reviewed by: Mrs. N

0 comments