top of page
  • N. N. Light

5 stars for The Solstice Series Boxset by John J. Blenkush #fantasyromance #magicalrealism #bookish

Title: The Solstice Series Boxset: Of The Heart, Sacrifice, Black Moon Rising, Songline, and New World

Author: John J. Blenkush

Genre: Fantasy Romance, Magical Realism

Book Blurb:


Lemurian DNA is at its end. Armageddon is near. A new world is about to be created. Few will survive. And only one, the surface-equal, can save the ancient race from extinction. Through happenstance 16-year old Julissa Grant becomes the Lemurian’s choice. But she’s not without flaws. Although she can inject fresh DNA, is a virgin, and is believed pure of heart, she is easily misled. Her temperament is problematic to learning the Lemurian age-old art of transferring, manipulating, and storing life-force energy, critical to living in the New World. Her notoriety gained when she’s embodied with the Holy Grail of healing only serves to lead her further off course. For a time, she joins the Sons and Daughters of Belial, the Lemurian’s arch enemies. After she and her loved ones become targets of the Belials, she chooses to go below to the Lemurian city of Telos. But she’s a diamond in the rough. She fails at walking Songline with her equal, Aaron Delmon. She’s given a last-gasp chance to prove she’s the surface-equal by completing Discovery. Will she make it to the NEW WORLD? Give birth to their visionary leader, HeIs? As the Lemurian Foretold has prophesied? Or die trying?

My Review:

The Solstice book series is nothing like I have ever enjoyed reading before. The story of Jules from her humble beginnings to her foretold end is inspiring. Fans of Stephanie Meyer will immediately want to dive into this series. This book is a great read at twilight or dawn or midday. There is the potential aspect that the story could be only akin to Bobby stepping out of the shower.

The reader will have to determine how these stories appeal to them. If you are a fan of Suzanne Collins, then this book series is for you too. The constant keeping the reader on edge generates a hunger that feels like a game. The books are a sweeping saga seemingly about love. The love of Aaron and Julissa or is it the love of peace? What is the price of peace and what will you have to put up with or give up before reaching that goal? Read this incredible series and determine that for yourself. Fans of J.R.R. Tolkien will also love this series. I will be shocked if Apple+ doesn't come knocking to create a new tv show out of this series.

My thoughts about each book:

A terrific start to a series, I couldn't put it down after I started it. The author needs to be commended for writing about teens and NOT having bullying in it. Clearly puts the reader on edge for the second book.

The greatest thing holding people back is fear. For some, the greatest hindrance to understanding is being young. For Jules, she is young and scared, a bad combo.

When is a kiss more than a kiss? When is delirium delirious? If Jules tripped over the truth would she land and forget what she tripped over?

You can't teach an old dog new tricks. You can't teach a young girl to not be a nitwit. Full of drama, full of intrigue. What will come?

You don't know what you have ‘til it's gone. You only have yourself to trust or blame. In the end, it will be what was foretold.

My Rating: 5 stars

Buy it Now:

Amazon US

Amazon CA

Amazon UK

Author Biography:

John J Blenkush, is the author of the critically acclaimed thrillers, REDDITION and STACY’S STORY, (Kirkus Reviews) and the epic SOLSTICE SERIES. Besides writing, he loves the great outdoors, running marathons, and recreational mountain climbing. He lives with his wife, Nancy, in Northern California. For more information please visit

Social Media Links:

Reviewed by: Mr. N

bottom of page