If You Like Heart-Pounding Chemistry, Ragtag Bands of Misfits, and Action-Packed Space Battles... Lost Valyr by @PaulineBJones #sciencefiction #romance #SFR #bookreview

August 21, 2018

 

Title: Lost Valyr: Project Enterprise 7

Author: Pauline Baird Jones

Genre: Science Fiction Romance

 

Book Blurb:

She’s a scientist in the wrong galaxy. He’s an alien in the wrong century. Can their love reset a terrifying future?

 

Dr. Rachel Grant knows her way around the Garradian tech on the Kikk Outpost. But the technology she encounters in an alien medical lab stumps even her brilliant mind. With a little help from her scheming parrot sidekick, she manages to push the right buttons and transport them to an uncharted planet…where they find a recently defrosted alien, who heats up Rachel.

 

Valyr wasn’t going to warm up to the bright-eyed scientist anytime soon…not after she pried centuries of cryosleep from his cold fingers. But waking up in the wrong century is nothing compared to the robots targeting his still-frozen team. And their situation only gets worse when he discovers the spiderweb of destruction trailing in the robots’ wake. With their backs against the wall, Valyr is blown away by Rachel’s determined passion in the face of impossible odds… but they’ll need more than a chemical reaction to survive what is headed their way.

 

Lost Valyr is the seventh standalone book in the explosive Project Enterprise sci-fi romance series. If you like heart-pounding chemistry, ragtag bands of misfits, and action-packed space battles, then you’ll love Pauline Baird Jones’ rollicking romance.

 

Buy Lost Valyr to defrost a fast-paced interstellar love story today!

 

My Review:

Dr. Rachel Grant is a savvy tech yet the technology at the outpost she’s stationed at stumps her. With guidance from Sir Rupert (her sidekick parrot), she manages to get it operational. She tests it out and winds up on an uncharted alien planet. Once there, she runs into a very hot and recently defrosted alien named Valyr who’s none too happy to be reawakened a few centuries too early, thanks to her.

 

But before they can process what’s happened and how to fix it, a team of robots are attacking Valyr’s cryosleep-induced team, led by the creepiest villain I’ve ever had the pleasure to read. Valyr and Rachel must work together to save not only his team but to secure a future for his planet. The longer they’re in each other company, the stronger their attraction is. Is there hope for them or are they just tied up in a web of their own doing?

 

I must admit, I have read book one and book five in this series but through crafty writing, Pauline Baird Jones catches the reader up so this can be read as a standalone. The plot moves quickly with realistic characters, believable situations (for science fiction, that is) with plenty of conflict.

 

In classic Pauline Baird Jones’ style, what makes this such a great story are the characters. I connected with Rachel immediately and appreciated the fact that she has insecurities, just like me. She isn’t some uber-strong heroine with no flaws. She’s got plenty of flaws and it makes me love her more. Valyr is an alpha alien but one I could see myself falling for.

 

The villain, I must admit, scared the crap out of me. Maybe that was Pauline’s intention but it truly creeped me out. So, I had to dock a half a star for being too creepy. I had a difficult time getting through the passages.

 

If you’re looking for top-shelf science fiction with plenty of action and romance, pick up Lost Valyr today. Highly recommend!

 

Disclaimer: I received a copy from the author in the hopes I’d review it.

 

Favorite Character/Quote: Sir Rupert. He’s my favorite character in this book and no, it’s not because he’s a talking parrot. Well, maybe a little … but that’s beside the point. Lol! He’s got immense depth and his interactions with Rachel make this a great read.

 

My Rating: 4.5 stars

 

Buy it now:  

Website address:  http://paulinebjones.com/books/lost-valyr-project-enterprise-7/

 

Amazon:  https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07D6WW2VD/

 

Ibooks: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/lost-valyr-project-enterprise-7/id1387575928

 

Kobo:  https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/lost-valyr

 

Nook: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/lost-valyr-pauline-baird-jones/1128841955?ean=2940155600619

 

GooglePlay:  https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Pauline_Baird_Jones_Lost_Valyr_Project_Enterprise?id=AGJbDwAAQBAJ

 

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/40217540-lost-valyr

 

 

Author Biography:

Pauline never liked reality, so she writes books. She likes to wander among the genres, rampaging like Godzilla, because she does love peril mixed in her romance. She found out on Twitter that Goodreads says she died in 1999. She’s a bit miffed no one told her. And since she’s dead, but not gone, you can see her as the Dead Author Live on Facebook or her YouTube Channel.

 

Social Media Links:

Website: http://www.paulinebjones.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorPaulineBairdJones/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/paulinebjones

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/247227.Pauline_Baird_Jones

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/perilouspauline/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/paulinebjones/

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Pauline-Baird-Jones/e/B000APFS0M/

Bookbub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/pauline-baird-jones

Youtube (dead author live videos): https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC246_a-liiXa_Y_uRlSQZgQ

 

Reviewed by: Mrs. N

Please reload

Recent Posts

Please reload

We'd love to hear your thoughts. All comments are moderated to avoid spam. 
 

©2018-2019 BY N. N. LIGHT. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. PROUDLY CREATED WITH WIX.COM