Book Review | Fear Power (The Fear Chronicles Book 2) by @ccbolick #yalit #bookreview


Title: Fear Power (The Fear Chronicles Book 2)

Author: C.C. Bolick

Genre: YA Urban Fantasy

Book Blurb:

Rena Mason once feared never being able to explore her feelings for Travis. Now she fears not being able to save everyone she cares about. As her fear grows, so does her power. With Travis’s help, she fights to uncover what really happened to her mom, along with the secrets her dad still hides.


When a renegade agent puts Rena in the agency’s crosshairs, other agents question their ability to contain her. If she could just figure out how to fly without crashing to the ground, maybe she could control her powers.


With threats from Louis, Rena prepares to face the truth about her family. But not all threats come from the outside. As Rena will learn, she can’t trust everyone at the agency…


My Review:

Rena Mason never experienced fear until she reunited with her father and brother after being on the run with Travis. Now, she’s living at the Agency and learning all is not as rosy as it appears. She needs to control her power and to do that, she needs to learn how to fly. Fear at not being able to save everyone shreds her insides. Travis tries to help her fly but with each effort, she fails miserably. Meanwhile, Louis tries to kidnap Rena twice and threatens to do more if she is not turned over to him. When a woman working for Louis reveals who she really is, everything Rena believes is shattered and she’s in more danger than ever before. Will she escape the Agency to find the truth or will they control her the only way they know how?


Wow, what an adrenaline rush! Picking up where Fear Justice left off, Fear Power amps up the stakes and action while delving into the Agency’s innermost agendas. We see the Agency through Rena’s eyes as well as get a glimpse into the political interference from the US government. The Agency is like the military and those who misbehave or question the Agency in any way get punished or eliminated. The action is so well-described, I forgot where I was, and my body moved of its own accord. Once I started, I couldn’t stop reading. I love the intricate characterizations of both Rena and Travis. There’s plenty of philosophical questions that come up as the story moves along which only adds to the depth of the plot.


Fans of Alias, X-Men, Marvel and DC Comics will devour this book. Highly recommend! I’m counting the days until book three is released.


Favorite Character/Quote: Rena. Throughout this book we see her grow as a young woman and an instrument of the Agency. The teen rose-tinted glasses fly off and she’s invariably on her own. Will she choose the right path or lose control? You’ll have to read it to find out.


My Rating: 5+ stars


Buy it Now:

Free to read on Kindle Unlimited!


https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B081411C9V


https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B081411C9V


https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/48840451-fear-power


https://www.bookbub.com/books/fear-power-by-c-c-bolick



Author Biography:

C.C. Bolick grew up in south Alabama, where she’s happy to still reside. She’s an engineer by day and a writer by night—too bad she could never do one without the other.


Camping, fishing… she loves the outdoors and the warm Alabama weather. For years she thought up stories to write and finally started putting them on paper back in 2006. If you hear her talking with no one to answer, don’t think she’s crazy. Since talking through her stories works best, a library is her worst place to write… even though it’s her favorite!


C.C. loves to mix sci-fi and paranormal—throw in a little romance and adventure and you’ve got her kind of story. She’s written eleven books including the Leftover Girl series, The Agency series, and The Fear Chronicles.


Social Media Links:

www.ccbolick.com

https://www.facebook.com/CCBolick/

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/15857316.C_C_Bolick

https://www.instagram.com/cc_bolick/

https://twitter.com/ccbolick


Reviewed by: Mrs. N


#FearPower #TheFearChronicles #CCBolick #yalit #youngadult #urbanfantasy #yaurbanfantasy #bookreview #newrelease #mustread

©2018-2020 BY N. N. LIGHT. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. PROUDLY CREATED WITH WIX.COM