top of page
  • N. N. Light

Milijun by Clayton Graham is a Science Fiction Event pick #scifi #sciencefiction #giveaway



Title: MILIJUN


Author: Clayton Graham


Genre: Science Fiction


Book Blurb:


Prepare for a mind-bending journey as a momentous First Contact event looms on the horizon…


Laura and Jason Sinclair are on vacation when they are thrust into an unimaginable ordeal as ethereal beings descend upon Earth under the cover of darkness. Their world is shattered, leaving them frightened and disoriented, caught in the midst of a shadowy clash between covert Earth factions and the enigmatic alien wave. As reality begins to unravel, they find themselves ensnared in a web of mystery and uncertainty.


But not everything is as it seems. Could these extraterrestrial visitors harbor ulterior motives? And does Jason hold a pivotal role in their mysterious mission? With the fate of humanity hanging in the balance, the world finds itself standing on the precipice of an interstellar revelation, whether it is prepared or not.


Milijun, the gripping debut novel in an electrifying alien interaction series by Clayton Graham, will transport you to the heart of a mystical cosmic encounter. For fans of Close Encounters, Contact, and Arrival, this thrilling narrative will captivate your imagination, immersing you in a world where the boundaries of possibility are shattered.

Excerpt:


The road ribbon system took them directly to the front of the Caiguna police station, seaward of the Eyre Highway along dusty, unkempt side streets. Mother and son dismounted as one and strode resolutely up the path and through darkened glass doors. They found themselves in a featureless foyer where a single three-metre plant was placed strategically in the middle of a brown synthetic marble floor. A long black desk stood at the far end but there was no sign of any other exit door or, for that matter, any other person. The walls were sky blue, the ceiling white, and the effect austere.


Laura approached the desk and saw a white button labeled Press for immediate attention. She did as requested. A flat screen rose from the desktop and the face of Janice Mepunga stared out at them. An aura of total distrust immediately gripped Laura’s mind, reinforced by unwelcome apprehension, but the image on the screen flashed a convivial smile and said, “Oh hello you two. I’ve been expecting you. Just one moment.”


To the right of the desk, a mechanism hummed and a well-disguised door opened within the blue wall to reveal a brightly lit office beyond.


“Come through. Come through,” Janice Mepunga called.


Jason seized his mother’s hand and looked at her questioningly. There was a strange fear in his ashen face, and his eyes mirrored the foreboding that Laura felt within her own heart.


“It’ll be fine,” Laura said quietly and gently guided him through into the inner office.


Janice instantly took the wind out of Laura’s sails by saying, “Look. I’m sorry about yesterday. An emergency came up. I had to leave. Sorry about leaving you with Robert, too – it was unavoidable. He tried to kill me. I knew Jason was around.” Her smile grew broader. “I knew you would find him.”


Shaking her head, Laura said sharply, “Maybe you did, but in what condition? It was absolutely unforgivable what you did.” She threw a challenging look at the policewoman. “And Robert wasn’t dead when I found him.”


Janice’s face hardened and Jason noticed she slowly worked her hand down to her pistol. “It was unavoidable,” the policewoman repeated.



Janice shook her head. “My partner went to Perth this morning. It’s normally pretty quiet around here, you understand, and there’s plenty of air backup from Kalgoorlie.” She cast a meaningful glance at her visitors before adding, “Should we require it.”


“What about a statement?” Laura asked. “Don’t you want one?”


“I certainly do,” Janice said, pointing to a terminal in the corner of her office. “Be my guest.” She was all sweetness and roses again, in control of the situation.


While his mother typed, Jason waited his turn. He was nervous, upset about Bradley Robert and about the loss of his photographs. His eyes hardly left Janice Mepunga, unsure in his own heart whether the alien creature was harbored inside her or whether it had moved to fresh pastures. On the drive to the station his mother had told him of Robert’s dying words, and he had felt sick. He desperately wanted to know the truth but was afraid of another confrontation. And worst of all, there was no proof of anything.


“How did the ranger threaten you?” Jason asked abruptly causing his mother to pause her statement mid-sentence.


Mepunga glanced up, her face like stone. “He just did, and that’s enough these days.” She gestured to Jason to sit down on the chair across the desk. “Let’s compile your statement together while your mother finishes hers.” She initiated a recorder and leaned back in her chair.


Jason shot a fleeting look at his mother and received a warning glance in return, accompanied by a small shake of the head.


“How did you get to Robert’s house?” Janice asked.


“I was on the computer in the camp tourist centre,” Jason replied. “He knocked me out and I awoke in a bedroom.”


Despite the recorder, Janice typed as she said, “And then what happened?”


“He made me something to eat, just eggs and toast. Then he made me shower and took me into the basement.”



“No,” Jason said. “There was nobody else.”


Janice raised her eyebrows. “Did you try to escape?”


With a shake of his head, Jason said, “He was always in my face, and twice my size.”


“Even in the shower?”


Jason averted his eyes. “More or less.”


“He was naked when I found him,” Laura interjected. “In the basement.”


The policewoman looked hard at Jason. “Did he touch you? Molest you in any way?”


Jason bit his lip. “No, he didn’t.”


Laura stood up. “I’ve finished. It’s fairly short but to the point.”


Janice walked over and glanced down at the screen. “Not exactly flattering behaviour on my part,” she said, pursing her lips. “My statement will give my story.”

Laura shrugged. “I’d still like to see—”

Jason interrupted her. “Can we go now, Mum? I need some air.”

Laura saw he looked pale and distressed. “I’m sorry,” she said to Janice. “Is that all for now?”


“Sure. We have your vehicle tag. Stick around the district though.” She printed both statements and laid them on the desk. “Just sign these for now.”


After they had signed Laura turned to leave but paused at the door. “What happened to the body?”


“It’s been taken care of,” Janice replied. “Thanks for coming in.” It was the final dismissal. Laura and Jason left without further discourse. They moved through the stark foyer and once outside paused to breathe the fresh southern air, which was rapidly warming as the sun rose higher in the sky.


“No alien for the lady,” Laura said. “Thank God you didn’t say anything about that.”


“Not to her,” Jason said, looking at his mother fearfully. “I think it’s still with her.”


Buy Links (including Goodreads and BookBub):



D2D FOR NOOK, KOBO, APPLE and OTHER STORES: https://books2read.com/u/me2dqY




What makes your featured book a must-read?


Milijun, the gripping first novel in an electrifying alien interaction series will transport you to the heart of a mystical cosmic encounter. For fans of Close Encounters, Contact, and Arrival, this thrilling narrative will captivate your imagination, immersing you in a world where the boundaries of possibility are shattered.

Giveaway –


Enter to win a $15 Amazon gift card:



Open Internationally.


Runs October 11 – October 19, 2023.


Winner will be drawn on October 20, 2023.



Author Biography:


As a youngster Clayton Graham read a lot of science fiction. He loved the ‘old-school’ masters such as HG Wells, Jules Verne, Isaac Asimov, and John Wyndham. As he left those formative years behind, he penned short stories when he could find a rare quiet moment amidst life’s usual distractions.


A retired aerospace engineer who worked in structural design and research, Clayton has always had an interest in science fiction and where it places humankind within a universe we are only just starting to understand. Clayton loves animals, including well-behaved pets, and all the natural world, and is a member of Australian Geographic. He has won many book awards including Author’s Show ‘50 great writers you should be reading’, Readers’ Favorite International Award finalist, and Book Excellence Awards finalist.


Combining future science with the paranormal is his passion. Milijun, his first novel, was published in 2016 and is the exciting prequel to Amidst Alien Stars and Alien Whispers: Conflict and Communion.


Space Opera novel, Saving Paludis, was published in 2018 and won a Readers’ Favorite International Book Award.


His books may be light years from each other but share the future exploits of mankind in an expansive universe as a common theme. In between novels Clayton has also published highly rated short story collections Silently in the Night and Looking for Life, where, among many other adventures, you can sympathize with a doomed husband, connect with an altruistic robot, explore an isolated Scottish isle and touch down on a far-flung asteroid.


He hopes you can share the journeys.


Social Media Links:


2 comentarios


andreadrake1
andreadrake1
15 oct 2023

My fave scifi right now is Ice Planet Barbarians by Ruby Dixon

Me gusta

N. N. Light
N. N. Light
12 oct 2023

Thank you, Clayton, for sharing your book in our Science Fiction and Fantasy Bookish Event!

Me gusta
bottom of page