top of page
  • N. N. Light

5+ stars for Torment in the Wind by Judy Bruce #mystery #suspense #bookreview

Title: Torment in the Wind

Author: Judy Bruce

Genre: Mystery, Suspense

Book Blurb:

In the seventh and final entry in the misadventures of Megan Docket, she deals with a death threat and investigates the suicide of a friend. An attack on her life and the murder of a townsman forces Megan to find a killer and plot the end of a pernicious local thrill house.

My Review:

Two death threats, a spooky house profiting off the dead, unsolved death of a childhood friend plus a murder all spells trouble for Megan Dockett. But when her guts start churning and the voices in the wind spell warning, she goes on the offensive and wages war on those tormenting her. She’s been through far too much to turn tail and run. Instead, she gathers her family and friends and enacts a trap so deadly, Lady Macbeth would applaud. Revenge is sweet, especially when it comes in the form of Torment in the Wind.

Torment in the Wind is the final installment in the Wind series and in my humble opinion, it’s the best book. It was a bittersweet read because all these characters, especially Megan, have a special place in my heart. The story itself is brilliant with plenty of suspense and drama. Judy Bruce’s writing prowess is on display in full force and I found myself reading late into the night. All the series’ loose ends are tied up, some of which I’d forgotten about. The ending made me gasp and when I finished reading, I gave my e-reader a hug. I’ll miss Megan and her posse. If you’re looking for a mystery you can’t put down, pick up Torment in the Wind. This is a standalone, but I highly recommend reading the whole series. I look forward to seeing what’s next for Judy Bruce. Highly recommend!

My Rating: 5+ stars

Buy it Now:

Author Biography:

Judy Bruce is a resident of Omaha, Nebraska, USA, where she lives with her husband, daughter, and autistic son. She has a law degree from Creighton University. Judy is the author of the Wind Series: Voices in the Wind, Alone in the Wind, Cries in the Wind, Fire in the Wind, Lies in the Wind, and future stories in the series, as well as Death Steppe: A World War II Novel. She maintains a website at and a blog at

Social Media Links:



Reviewed by: Mrs. N


bottom of page