If You Like Thelma and Louise, You'll Love The Ladies Temperance Club's Farewell Tour by Jeff Lee @jfredlee #bookreview #satire #humor #fiction #IAN1

May 28, 2018

 

Title: The Ladies Temperance Club's Farewell Tour

Author: Jeff Lee

Genre: Women's Fiction, Humor, Satire, Crime, Offbeat & Quirky Commercial Fiction

 

Book Blurb:

Vonda Mae Ables could never hurt a living soul. Now she’s on the lam in    a huge RV, with her best friends, gallons of Chardonnay and a stiff in the freezer.

 

Vonda has suffered her alcoholic boyfriend's abuse for twenty years. But the first time she stands up for herself, she overdoes it and crushes his skull with a football trophy. Rather than turn herself in, she enlists the help of her friends to ditch the body. They stash the boyfriend in the freezer of his humongous RV and hit the road for Arizona, planning a quiet desert burial.

 

Unfortunately, the plan goes more sideways with every mile, culminating in rural Idaho. Vonda finally finds a likely place to plant the dead SOB, but now he's frozen solid and stuck in the freezer. Exhausted from their day of digging and unsuccessfully trying to extricate him, the women stop at a local cafe.

 

While they're drinking dinner, a gang of Harley-riding repo guys makes off with the RV and a Good Samaritan reports the theft. When the state troopers arrive to take a stolen vehicle report, Vonda panics, knowing if the cops recover the motor home and discover what's in the freezer, she might have to turn that old trophy on herself.

 

My Review:

Listen up ladies, we've all been in Vonda's shoes. We've been saddled with a selfish SOB and once or twice, we've wondered what would happen if we offed him. ;) Vonda only did what came natural and her best friends are there to help her get rid of the body. No body, no crime, right?

 

Thus begins a rib-tickling adventure featuring three woman, a deceased deadbeat and the authorities on the hunt for the RV they're riding in. The author, who happens to be a man, does an incredible job getting inside the head of Vonda and her two girlfriends. I was really impressed.

 

I love road trip books and this one is hilarious from start to finish. I laughed all the way through the book and I can't wait to read the next installment!

 

If you like Thelma and Louise, you'll love this book!

 

Favorite Character: Vonda. I love how matter-of-fact she is. She's a fun no-nonsense kind of woman who get herself into some sticky situations. Luckily, she has her best friends at her side or else she'd lose it. She reminds me of Thelma from Thelma and Louise, only a bit wackier.

 

Favorite Quote: “Y’see officer,” she launched into a character centered somewhere between Gracie Allen and Ethel Mertz. “Vonda might have been driving and all, but I’m the reason she had to swerve.”

 

My Rating: 5 stars

 

Buy Links:

Amazon US http://www.amazon.com/Ladies-Temperance-Clubs-Farewell-Tour-ebook/dp/B004TNI8BM

 

Amazon CA http://www.amazon.ca/Ladies-Temperance-Clubs-Farewell-Tour-ebook/dp/B004TNI8BM

 

Amazon UK http://www.amazon.co.uk/Ladies-Temperance-Clubs-Farewell-Tour-ebook/dp/B004TNI8BM

 

Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/14417466-the-ladies-temperance-club-s-farewell-tour

 

Author Biography:

I've been writing in L.A. since before KC even HAD a Sunshine Band.

 

     And if there's one thing I know, it's that, given half a chance, this city can be a never-ending cavalcade of rib-tickling fun -- and funny -- things, people and approaches to this thrill ride we call life.

 

     Like phony televangelists who produce biblical-themed porn for the faithful.

 

     Bat-shit crazy showbiz moms.

 

     Defrocked talent agents posing as Reality Show producers.

 

     The Rose Parade.

 

     And on.

 

     And on.

 

     It never freakin' ends with this place.

 

     There's always something -- or someone -- to gape at and giggle over.

 

     That's why I love L.A.

 

     I tell ya, you've just GOT to love this town!

 

     You HAVE to --

     It's the law.

 

Social Media Links:

Twitter: http://twitter.com/jfredlee

 

Website: http://jeffleewriter.weebly.com

Please reload

Recent Posts

Please reload

We'd love to hear your thoughts. All comments are moderated to avoid spam. 
 

©2018-2019 BY N. N. LIGHT. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. PROUDLY CREATED WITH WIX.COM