Book Review | Hot Love Inferno by @itsnickyblue #bookreview #darkhumor #fantasy #FridayReads

March 29, 2019

 

Title: Hot Love Inferno (Prophecy Allocation Book 2)

Author: Nicky Blue

Genre: Comedic Fantasy, Dark Humor, Fantasy

 

Book Blurb:

When seven foot ghost warriors are trying to kill you, a multidimensional Basset Hound might be the only friend you need...


​"Read it in one sitting and couldn't stop laughing. Gag a minute. Dark comedy at it's finest!" (Goodreads review)

A half-woman, half-cockroach fused in a bizarre gardening accident? That would be Mrs Jittery Twitch, dwelling in the shadows of our misdeeds. If in danger, you can call upon her help… all she asks is your soul as payment. But she’s just a legend, so no need to worry.

Barry Harris is a 28-year-old man, still living with his dear old mum in a little flat above a hairdresser. His obsession with Star Trek and the martial arts won’t help him when he’s forced out on a date.


And nobody knows about the weird string of events that’s about to put everyone’s lives in danger. A trio of samurai warriors and the strangest offer of help lead Barry on a perilous mission to save the day.

(This book is the second in the Prophecy Allocation series but works fine as a standalone read.)

Perfect reading for fans of Tom Holt, Terry Pratchett, Robert Rankin, Christopher Moore or Douglas Adams.

Why you should read this book:

 

  • It explains revolutionary insights into the nature of reality that debunk the myth of free will (probably).

  • It proves the multiverse has only two parallel universes (depending on your criteria for what makes up proof).

  • It contains 50% extra innuendo-based gags than Book One in the series. Some of them might be considered funny (again this is relative).

  • The author achieved a heightened dynamic tension not found in other books. He was heavily constipated during its creation. There may be a link. The author is no way suggesting that this makes it better than every other book ever written. 


Warning: The book is written in British English. All British slang terms are helpfully translated for the international reader, along with a short explanation of why British people are a little strange.



What the reviews are saying 

"Quirky, original, brilliant - a must-read!"


"A mind-bending, absurdist blast of comedy and action"


"Had me in stitches . Highly recommend!"


" Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy meets Pride and Prejudice and Zombies "


"The author's ability to write characters that are believable, different, and set in situations that are far from the ordinary, is remarkable."


"If you get the chance to read it, please do. I gotta read more now!"


"A funny and intriguing book!"


"I highly recommend this to anyone who loves dark humour "


" It’s the perfect mix of dark comedy + bizarre fantasy and is unlike any book I’ve read before. I laughed out loud multiple times and enjoyed the roller-coaster read. 5/5 stars 

 

My Review:

Undercover ninja Barry is back in a whole new adventure. Gardener by day, it’s hard for Barry to keep a lid on his secret identity, especially when enemy ninjas appear out of nowhere. Good thing Barry thinks fast on his feet. When Barry’s mum sets him up on a blind date, chaos ensues. Who knew going to the cinema could be so deadly? His date is abducted and it’s up to Barry to save her from a fate worse than death. Can Barry save the day yet again?

 

I loved Hot Love Inferno almost as much as I loved Escape from Samsara (book one). It’s hilarious dark humor fantasy adventure unlike anything on the market today. Barry is the typical anti-hero which only makes the reader connect with him more. The plot moves at a quick pace with plenty of ninja action and whip-smart dialogue. I read it in one sitting and highly recommend!

 

Perfect for fans of Terry Pratchett, Hot Love Inferno is not to be missed. Can’t wait for the next adventure!

 

Disclaimer: I read this on Kindle Unlimited CA.

 

My Rating: 5 stars

 

Buy it Now:   

Free to read on Kindle Unlimited!

 

Amazon US https://www.amazon.com/Hot-Love-Inferno-Adventure-Allocation-ebook/dp/B07KB5RLPT

 

Amazon CA https://www.amazon.ca/Hot-Love-Inferno-Adventure-Allocation-ebook/dp/B07KB5RLPT

 

Amazon UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/Hot-Love-Inferno-Adventure-Allocation-ebook/dp/B07KB5RLPT

 

Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/42744667-hot-love-inferno

 

Bookbub https://www.bookbub.com/books/hot-love-inferno-prophecy-allocation-book-2-by-nicky-blue

 

 

Author Biography:

Hi, I’m Nicky, I am from Brighton in England. I grew up fascinated by books like Roald Dahl’s Tales of the Unexpected and t.v. shows like The Twilight Zone. For years I played and wrote songs in an alternative rock band before going back to university and studying English Literature and Philosophy. 

I now have a passion for writing fantasy and dark comedy fiction. I love stories that dig beneath the surface of everyday life and play in the shadow worlds that we all have. Outside of my writing, I recently worked as a translator on the planet KELT 2Ab in the Andromeda Galaxy. That didn’t last very long though as the commute was killing me. 

I also write dark fiction and dystopias under the pen name Mr Blue. Find me here:
www.amazon.com/author/mrblue

If you would like to keep updated on my writing please subscribe to my reader’s list at: www.nickyblue.com/freebie

 

Social Media Links:

Website http://nickyblue.com/

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/itsnickyblue

Twitter https://twitter.com/itsnickyblue

Instagram https://www.instagram.com/itsnickyblue/

Pinterest https://www.pinterest.com/itsnickyblue/

 

Reviewed by: Mrs. N

Please reload

Recent Posts

Please reload

We'd love to hear your thoughts. All comments are moderated to avoid spam. 
 

©2018-2019 BY N. N. LIGHT. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. PROUDLY CREATED WITH WIX.COM