top of page
  • N. N. Light

5 stars for Deception Pass: Spider Green Mystery Thriller Series, Book 3 #audiobookreview #thriller

Title: Deception Pass: Spider Green Mystery Thriller Series, Book 3

Author: Norm Harris

Narrator: Maria McCann

Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Time Travel

Book Blurb:

She should have followed the rules. "Rule 2: Always double-tap." Now a girl must travel back in time to that never-never land of spies and samovars. To the land of bears, bombs, babushkas, and borscht to finish the job. To the land where anything can happen and often does.

On course in the Pacific, an American ship experiences an event unlike anything that any ship has ever undergone.

Faydra "Spider" Green has had a storied career as a navy lawyer, juggling being the daughter of a former US president. She has successfully navigated complex diplomatic situations, pulse-pounding legal investigations, and dangerous military missions, managing each time to save the day. But now, a man who had nearly cost Fay her life has seemingly returned from the dead. Now, hell-bent on revenge, he poses a threat to Fay and national security. Fay will have to go to extraordinary lengths to stop him, even tampering with the bounds of time and space.

My Review:

Summary –

An enemy, long thought dead, rises from the oblivion with his sights set on Fay and her only recourse is to travel back in time. Navy lawyer Fay “Spider” Green may be the daughter of a previous US president but that only spurned her ambitions and drive. She’s not only helped solve many cases but works as a spy for the US government. Three women murdered keep her busy, but her latest assignment has her on board a ship named after her father and one she swore she would never set foot upon again. A man from her past resurfaces and this time he means to wreak revenge on her head. Fay must outsmart him and stay one step ahead of him if she wants to stay alive. She’ll do whatever it takes to bring him down, even if she has to transport through time. Will she succeed in bringing him down or will she become his next victim?

Narrator’s overall voice –

Maria McCann has, in my opinion, the perfect voice to narrate this book. She uses inflections to differentiate between the characters. I found myself getting caught up in the story and it’s all thanks to the narrator.

Does the narrator fit the characters?

Yes, Maria embodies the characters in every way.

Narrator’s reading style –

Maria McCann’s reading style makes for an entertaining listening experience. I enjoyed her interpretation of the story.

Narrator’s impact on reading experience –

Maria McCann is a talented narrator, and her voice is the perfect pairing with the story. She brings the story to life.

Narrator’s pacing –

Maria McCann’s pacing is even and moves from slow to fast, depending on what’s going on in the story.

Audiobook flow –

It flows so well, after a while, I forgot I was listening to an audiobook. I transported into the story and let Maria McCann be my guide.

What makes this audiobook unique –

If you’re a thriller/suspense reader, you’re going to love this high-octane listen. From the action to the mystery to the danger to time running out, this audiobook will leave you breathless.

Would I recommend this audiobook –

YES! Thousand times over, yes!

My Rating: 5 stars

Buy it Now:

Author Biography:

Norm Harris’ first novel debuted on an Amazon bestseller list in 2002. It was a one-and-done, but now he’s back with a plan to publish the Spider Green Mystery Thriller Series from the first mystery/thriller of days gone by.

Except for time spent in military service, he is a second-generation Seattleite (that’s what they call those who dwell in the shadow of Mt. Rainier), with his legal beagle son, K-K, and five giant tropical fish. Norm’s stories spring from his memories of people he has met and the places he has visited as he traveled the world. Diversity, inclusion, and equality are foremost in each story.

“Fay is an admirable, tough, brilliant protagonist.” said one reviewer. Said another, “Lt Commander Faydra Green from the JAG Corps is a “take no prisoners” protagonist...”

Watch for his four upcoming first quarter 2022 novels, Fruit of the Poisonous Tree, Arid Sea, Deception Pass, and The Girl Who Knew Death, in what he hopes to be an award-winning mystery thriller series. And in late 2022, his fifth book in the series, Rain and Wind and Fire.

Thank you for reading, and if you enjoyed the stories, please consider leaving a review!

Reviewed by: Mrs. N

2 commentaires

Barbara Bettis
13 oct. 2022

Lovely review! All the best with this audiobook, Norm.

Norm Harris
Norm Harris
15 oct. 2022
En réponse à

Thank you for your support, Barbara. Maria and I have another to release in two weeks. I hope N N will review it as well. Norm

bottom of page