top of page
  • N. N. Light

5+ stars for The Wall by Brian Penn #yadystopian #yalit #youngadult #teenlit #dystopian #newrelease #bookreview



Title: The Wall

Author: Brian Penn

Genre: YA Dystopian

 

Book Blurb:

 

He could live forever. But is he willing to pay the price?

 

It's 2099, and the former United States of America is in the midst of another civil war. In the wake of a revolutionary technology that grants people a second chance at life, an impenetrable wall divides the prosperous nation of Zion from the slums of MiddleLand. Stuck inside the wall and desperate to reunite with his fiancée, contraband smuggler Asher is hell-bent on finding a way out.

 

When his uncle offers him a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity, Asher is faced with an impossible task: impersonate a talented Zion soldier and risk his life in the Canonization, a brutal gladiator duel against a champion who never loses. But defeating an unbeatable opponent and reuniting with his one true love is only the beginning. Asher thought the second life policy was outlawed. But the truth is far more sinister, and he soon finds himself caught up in the middle of a terrifying rebellion that will decide the fate of both sides of the Wall.

 

As an explosive and futuristic sci-fi adventure that artfully weaves together high-octane action and heart-stopping romance, The Wall presents an unforgettable YA dystopia that's perfect for fans of Divergent, The Hunger Games, and Dune.

 

"The Wall by Brian Penn is a heart-racing, action-packed, and nail-biting dystopian you don't want to miss. It follows two lovers, whose journey is rife with secrets, love, and a daunting battle for survival. Fans of George Orwell and Margaret Atwood will find this book fascinating." —Foluso Falaye, San Francisco Book Review.

 

 

My Review:

 

What would you pay to live forever? The Wall is an action-filled YA dystopian novel I thoroughly enjoyed. The premise is intriguing. The world-building is impeccable. The characters are diverse and unforgettable. While some may say this is futuristic, it's not too far away.

 

Let's start with the world-building. To say Brian Penn is an expert when it comes to world-building is an understatement. The world he's created is filled with complexities and nuances. This world is rooted in reality so it feels familiar yet is so far gone, it's fantastical. The layers of construct only illuminate the author's writing ability. Once I dove in, I didn't want to leave.

 

The characters are well written. I connected with Asher and his quest to find a way through the wall. He goes through so many obstacles yet retains his strength, his fortitude. His very existence is cause for alarm, but his actions will justify the means. The rest of the characters are truly unforgettable. Each character has their own voice, their own personality. 

 

If you're looking for a fresh, original YA dystopian with a splash of romance, take my advice and read The Wall.

 

My Rating: 5+ stars

 

Buy it Now:   

 

 


Author Biography:

 

Brian Penn is an award-winning novelist and screenwriter. He has a BS in psychology, which he finds useful while composing interesting and authentic characters. He currently resides in the Pacific Northwest with his wife and three children, who serve as his daily inspiration. When he isn’t writing you can find him spending time with his family, hitting the slopes, or shooting archery.

 

Social Media Links:

 

 

Reviewed by: Nancy

Comments


bottom of page