The Lady Said No by @JacqBiggar is an Addictive Mystery Filled With Cagy Characters Set Within the Greatest Horse Race Known to Man #bookreview #mystery

September 11, 2018

 

Title: The Lady Said No: An Augustus Grant Mystery- Book 1

Author: Jacquie Biggar

Genre: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense

 

Book Blurb:

Brand New Cover, Same Great Story!

A mind of steel hidden behind a bumbling exterior, that's the perfect description of Detective Gus. 
N.N. Light

A great murder mystery with a little romance on the side. Very well written, wonderful characters and a plot that kept me guessing!!
Tresa

The Race is on to find a Killer in the heart of Kentucky horse country.

Detective Augustus Grant is faced with his most baffling case to date. Well-respected race horse breeder John Jorgenson is murdered in his den days before the Kentucky Derby and the list of suspects is growing.

Complicating matters, Gus' ex-girlfriend is the last person to have seen the victim alive. Rebecca Hayes owes the Jorgenson family her loyalty. They gave her a new life after a disastrous affair leaves her alone and pregnant. 
With all the evidence pointing in Becky's direction, will Gus do his duty?

Or follow his heart?

Readers who enjoy Cozy Mysteries, Contemporary Romance, Inspirational Romance, or Romantic Suspense, will love this second chance romance story.

 

My Review:

A few days before the Kentucky Derby, esteemed breeder John Jorgenson is found murdered in his den. Detective Gus Grant is on the case and just when the list of suspects can’t get any bigger, ex-girlfriend Becky walks back into his life and is the last person to see the victim alive.

 

Becky’s known heartbreak and his name is Gus Grant. She’s built a nice life for herself and her young daughter since he abandoned her a few years ago. There’s no room for love, least of all from the one man who stole her heart. She puts on a brave face but her resolve crumbles when Gus discovers the truth. Is there any hope of them being a family or will Gus discover what really happened in Mr. Jorgenson’s den?

 

I love the Kentucky Derby and Biggar brings it to life in this delightful mystery. Gus reminds me of Columbo, from his crinkled attire to the way he fumbles around the crime scene. A mind of steel hidden behind a bumbling exterior, that’s the perfect description of Detective Gus. His past relationship with Becky collides with his duty as a detective and he must decide what really matters.

 

The Lady Said No is an addictive mystery filled with cagy characters set within the greatest horse race known to man. There’s a lot to uncover yet Biggar only reveals what she wants the reader to know at the time. Gripping sub-plots will keep you turning the pages, all leading up to an explosive climax. I read it in one sitting … yes, it was that good.

 

My Rating: 5+ stars

 

Buy it now:  

Amazon US https://www.amazon.com/Lady-Said-No-Augustus-Mystery-ebook/dp/B01N1581ZC


Amazon CA https://www.amazon.ca/Lady-Said-No-Augustus-Mystery-ebook/dp/B01N1581ZC

 

Amazon UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/Lady-Said-No-Augustus-Mystery-ebook/dp/B01N1581ZC

 

Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/41560041-the-lady-said-no

 

 

Author Biography:

My name is Jacquie Biggar and when I’m not being a total klutz I am a wife, mother of one, grandmother, and a butler to my dog and cat.


I’m also a hopeless romantic and the biggest The Voice fan ever! I can be found every Monday night in my armchair plastered to the television laughing at Blake and Adam’s shenanigans.


I also enjoy my grandson’s hockey and lacrosse games, hanging at the beach with DH (darling hubby), taking pictures, and reading (what else?) romance novels.


I have a slight Tim Hortons obsession, love gardening, everything pink… and did I mention I love my husband? 

JACQUIE BIGGAR is a USA Today bestselling author of Romantic Suspense who loves to write about tough, alpha males and strong, contemporary women willing to show their men that true power comes from love. 


Free reads, excerpts, author news, and contests can be found on her web site: 
http://jacqbiggar.com


You can follow her on at http://Facebook.com/jacqbiggar

and http://Twitter.com/jacqbiggar

 
Or email her via her web site. Jacquie lives on Vancouver Island with her husband and loves to hear from readers all over the world!

 

Reviewed by: Mrs. N

Please reload

Recent Posts

Please reload

We'd love to hear your thoughts. All comments are moderated to avoid spam. 
 

©2018-2019 BY N. N. LIGHT. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. PROUDLY CREATED WITH WIX.COM