Book Review | #Toots: A British romantic comedy built on white lies, pink elephants and grey areas by @LinhLeJames #bookreview #womensfiction

June 5, 2019

 

Title: #Toots: A British romantic comedy built on white lies, pink elephants and grey areas

Author: Linh Le James

Genre: Women’s Fiction, Humorous Fiction, Sisters Fiction

 

Book Blurb:

EDITORIAL REVIEW: "Fresh and funny" The Prairies Book Review.


2019 National Excellence Indie Awards Finalist.


"Funny and feisty" Awarded 5 STARS by Readers' Favorite.

A British romantic comedy built on white lies, pink elephants and grey areas.

LONDON: Four sisters swipe left on everything they hate, one cocktail at a time. 

Louise dreams of an exotic lifestyle, miles away from Hackney. Nick comes along. Famous, fit, funny and filthy rich. Louise will stop at nothing to seduce him. 


Louise will fake it till she makes it. All the way to the ka-ching bling ring. 
But the little white lies soon snowball into a mountain Louise’s Louboutins can’t climb. 

Jess juggles work, two babies, a cheating husband and nannies from hell. 
Carla goes on a bender and wakes up next to her young assistant. Freddie.
Emily is getting over her cheating ex by throwing herself into the dating scene. 

When work, dating and proposals all go wrong, the four sisters’ friendship is their only lifeline.

 

My Review:

Four sisters swipe left on everything they hate in their life and uplift each other one luscious cocktail at a time. Louise dreams of getting out of Hackney and will lies her way to the glamourous lifestyle she craves. But when her “harmless” little white lies catch up to her, she can feel her dream sailing away. Jess is supermom, juggling a career, two babies and a cheating dirtbag of a husband. She longs to get away, too. Carla parties a little too hard one night and wakes up next to her very young assistant. Calgon has no help for her. Emily is back in the dating pool and struggling to keep her head above water. Who knew life could be so un-fun? But through it all, these four sisters have each other and that’s all you need. Except maybe a few top-shelf cocktails.

 

#Toots is a hilarious British romantic comedy akin to Cadence Bushnell and Helen Fielding. Every chapter starts with a fab cocktail recipe and really ladies, what else do you need? I can’t tell you how much I laughed while reading this book but about halfway through, I had to force myself to stop drinking while reading because I was tired of wiping down my e-reader. Yes, it’s that funny. Women all over the world will relate to the four sisters and connect with at least one of them. A fast-moving plot kept me turning the pages and I can’t wait for book 2.

 

If you’re looking for a laugh-so-hard-my-side-aches women’s fiction, pick up #Toots today. Highly recommend, especially for fans of SATC and Shopaholic series.

 

My Rating: 5 stars

 

Buy it Now:   

Amazon US https://www.amazon.com/Toots-hilarious-romantic-comedy-elephants-ebook/dp/B07MCJKRBT

 

Amazon CA https://www.amazon.ca/Toots-hilarious-romantic-comedy-elephants-ebook/dp/B07MCJKRBT

 

Amazon UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/Toots-hilarious-romantic-comedy-elephants-ebook/dp/B07MCJKRBT

 

Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/43547234-toots

 

BookBub https://www.bookbub.com/books/toots-a-hilarious-romantic-comedy-built-on-white-lies-pink-elephants-and-grey-areas-by-linh-le-james

 

 

Author Biography:

Linh is Vietnamese. She was born and grew up in France. After college, she moved to Southern California and lived there for a few years before settling in the UK for 15 years, first in Wales, then in Surrey. In 2018, she packed all of her shoes, her kids, hubby, and the Dog and moved to the UAE.

Storytelling is her passion since childhood.

Things about her she doesn't want you to know:


She forgets to pack the girls’ snack and then has to run to school to deliver it.


She has two alarms set on her phone for the school pick-up.


She pretends to have meditation sessions in order to have a nap.


Her kids eat more greens than she does.


80% of her daily water intake is made up by coffee, the rest by wine.

#Toots is available on AMAZON.


#Toots2 will be published later in 2019.

Gaining exposure as an independent author relies mostly on word-of-mouth, so if you have the time and inclination, please consider leaving a review for #TOOTS on Amazon. Thank you.

 

Social Media Links:

https://twitter.com/LinhLeJames

https://www.facebook.com/LinhLeJamesWrites

 

http://www.linhle.co.uk/

 

Reviewed by: Mrs. N

Please reload

Recent Posts

Please reload

We'd love to hear your thoughts. All comments are moderated to avoid spam. 
 

©2018-2019 BY N. N. LIGHT. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. PROUDLY CREATED WITH WIX.COM