top of page
  • N. N. Light

5+ stars for Deception Pass (Spider Green Mystery Thriller Series Book 3) #thriller #bookreview

Title: Deception Pass (Spider Green Mystery Thriller Series Book 3)

Author: Norm Harris

Genre: Time Travel Thriller, Legal Thriller, Military Thriller

Book Blurb:

A girl travels back in time to that never never land of spies and samovars. To the land of bears, bombs, babushkas, and borscht. To the land where anything can happen and often does. An American ship on course in the Pacific experiences an event unlike anything that any ship, anywhere, has ever undergone. Faydra “Spider” Green has had a storied career as a Navy lawyer, all while juggling being the daughter of a former U.S. president. She has successfully navigated intricate diplomatic situations, pulse-pounding legal investigations, and dangerous military missions, managing each time to save the day. But now a man who had nearly cost Fay her life has seemingly returned from the dead. Now, hellbent on revenge, he poses a threat to Fay and national security. Fay will have to go to extraordinary lengths to stop him, even tampering with the bounds of time and space.

My Review:

An enemy, long thought dead, rises from the oblivion with his sights set on Fay and her only recourse is to travel back in time. Navy lawyer Fay “Spider” Green may be the daughter of a previous US president but that only spurned her ambitions and drive. She’s not only helped solve many cases but works as a spy for the US government. Three women murdered keep her busy, but her latest assignment has her on board a ship named after her father and one she swore she would never set foot upon again. A man from her past resurfaces and this time he means to wreak revenge on her head. Fay must outsmart him and stay one step ahead of him if she wants to stay alive. She’ll do whatever it takes to bring him down, even if she has to transport through time. Will she succeed in bringing him down or will she become his next victim?

Deception Pass is a riveting time travel thriller from start to finish. I connected with Fay right away. The descriptive narration plunged me right into the middle of the action. Every twist and turn along with the suspenseful subplot and intense action scenes had my pulse racing and my heart thumping. The action scenes and the military/legal/spy details rang true in their accuracy. Fay is a kick-butt adrenaline-rushing heroine who knows how to hold her own. Norm Harris is a brilliant author who knows how to write thrillers. This is my first Norm Harris book, and it won’t be my last. Fans of James Patterson will love Deception Pass. If you’re a fan of pulse-pounding thrillers with a twist, pick up Deception Pass. Highly recommend!

My Rating: 5+ stars

Buy it Now:

Author Biography:

Norm Harris' first novel debuted on an Amazon bestseller list in 2002. It was a one-and-done, but now he's back with a plan to publish the Spider Green Mystery Thriller Series from the first mystery/thriller of days gone by.

Except for time spent in military service, he is a second-generation Seattleite (that's what they call those who dwell in the shadow of Mt. Rainier), with his legal beagle son, K-K, and five giant tropical fish. Norm's stories spring from his memories of people who he has met and places and the places he has visited as he traveled the world. Diversity, inclusion, and equality are foremost in each story. "Fay is an admirable, tough, brilliant protagonist." said one reviewer. Said another, "Lt Commander Faydra Green from the JAG Corps is a “take no prisoners” protagonist..."

Watch for his four upcoming first quarter 2022 novels, "Fruit of the Poisonous Tree", "Arid Sea", "Deception Pass", and "The Girl Who Knew Death" in what he hopes to be an award-winning mystery thriller series. And in late 2022 his fifth book in the series "Rain and Wind and Fire".

Social Media Links:

Reviewed by: Mrs. N


bottom of page