4 stars for Middle Ageish by Shirley Goldberg @mylifeasadate #romanticwomensfiction #bookreview



Title: Middle Ageish

Author: Shirley Goldberg

Genre: Romantic Women’s Fiction

Book Blurb:

Sunny Chanel's marriage is circling the drain when her husband marks his colonoscopy on the calendar and ignores their anniversary. With divorce papers instead of roses on the horizon, she says "au revoir" Paris and croissants, and "hello" cheap New Haven apartment and ramen noodles.

Encouraged by her friends, Sunny jumps into online dating, twenty-three years and twenty pounds after her last date. To her surprise she discovers dating might require a helmet, and occasionally armor to protect her heart, but after years of being ignored, her adventurous side craves fun and conversation. She's middle-aged not dead. Then suddenly, on the way to reinventing herself, life takes a left turn when the one man she can't forget calls with an unexpected request.

My Review:

Sunny Chanel's marriage is crumbling down around her shoulders and the last straw is her husband forgetting their anniversary. She calls it quits and leaves Paris for New Haven. She finds a cheap room to rent and decides to complete her degree. Her husband promises to take care of her financially but when her bank accounts dwindle down to nothing, she seeks a divorce lawyer's advice. With the nudging of her friends, she dives into online dating. Dating is more like negotiating world treaties than fun. Her friends encourage her to keep trying and to write down her experiences. The more dates she goes on, Sunny wonders if finding love is worth all the humiliation. Will Sunny be able to navigate her new life as a divorcee or will she be single forever?

Middle Ageish is a compelling look at seasoned dating and all the pitfalls that happen. Shirley Goldberg creates a modern-day Bridget Jones heroine who finds life a little too overwhelming. Sunny does have an overall positive attitude which carries the plot. The plot, on the other hand, confused me. The beginning was emotional and moved at a good pace but when it reached the middle of the story, it slowed to a crawl. Even the characters stagnated. The ending was a little surprising and not what I expected. I'm not 100% sure what the point of this book is. My honest opinion is it would've worked better as a nonfiction dating book. Fans of Cadance Bushnell, Helen Fielding and Sophia Kinsella will love this romantic women's fiction.

My Rating: 4 stars

Buy it Now:

WEBSITE: https://midagedating.com/

Amazon: https://tinyurl.com/yxcqystg

APPLE https://tinyurl.com/y37cbc5u

Nook/Barnes and Noble: https://tinyurl.com/yyuwpq6o

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/54758920-middle-ageish

https://www.bookbub.com/profile/3531427862?list=following


Author Biography:

Shirley Goldberg is a writer, novelist, and former ESL and French teacher who’s lived in Paris, Crete, and Casablanca. She writes about men and women of a certain age starting over. Her website http://midagedating.com offers a humorous look into dating in mid life, and her friends like to guess which stories are true. Middle Ageish is her first book in the series Starting Over. Her character believes you should never leave home without your sense of humor and Shirley agrees.

Social Media Links:

https://www.facebook.com/midagedating

https://twitter.com/mylifeasadate

https://www.instagram.com/shirleygoldbergauthor/

Reviewed by: Mrs. N

#MiddleAgeish #ShirleyGoldberg #TheWildRosePress #romanticwomensfiction #romanticfiction #womensfiction #dating #romance #romancereaders #readromance #seasonedromance #book #books #bookish #bookstoread #newrelease #bookreview #bookbuzz

©2018-2020 BY N. N. LIGHT. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. PROUDLY CREATED WITH WIX.COM