5+ stars for Northern Wolf (Northern Wolf Series Book 1) by Daniel Greene #bookreview #histfic



Title: Northern Wolf (Northern Wolf Series Book 1)

Author: Daniel Greene

Genre: Historical Fiction, Historical Civil War Fiction

Book Blurb:


#1 Amazon Bestseller in History of American Civil War Regiments

A broken man will be forged in the flames of war...

It is late 1862, and the United States has been ripped apart by civil war for over a year with no end in sight. The war is a distant thought to Johannes Wolf, a young German immigrant with a crippled leg keeping him off the muster lists.

Desperately dredging the gutters for recruits, Wolf cons his way into the depleted, demoralized, and poorly run Union army, and is promptly placed in the undesirable F Company of the 13th Michigan Cavalry.

Wolf's company find themselves riding with Custer and the Michigan Brigade on a collision course with master horseman J.E.B. Stuart and the Army of Northern Virginia in a small town in Pennsylvania, called Gettysburg.

Will they stand tall against the knights of the South and prove themselves worthy? Or will they fall beneath screaming bullets and sweeping blades, becoming more bloody fodder for a lost cause?

Northern Wolf is a thrilling, historical page-turner packed with detailed passages of battle, the horrors of war, and the struggle to discover oneself. Fans of Bernard Cornwell, Jeff Shaara, Simon Scarrow, and Steven Pressfield will be captivated by this powerful new series. Start the adventure today!

My Review:


I have been seriously studying the Civil War for more than two decades. I cannot say how taken aback I was to start reading this fictional account and feel like I was reading letters from real soldiers, as portrayed on the Ken Burns’ Civil War. There was more than one time when I was ready for Shelby Foote to step in and give a forward to a chapter!

This work in one word: excellent. Superb is another word. One of the finest pieces of Civil War fiction written in the last 50 years.

The author used the history of the period to bring his fictional men alive. The reader quickly feels like he is part of the 13th.

I honestly think this work will be able to sit comfortably on a book shelf next to WEB Griffin's Brotherhood of War. Honestly not since Horatio Hornblower has a fictional character been so wonderfully fit into the historical record in such a sublime fashion, you forget you are reading fiction.

Certainly, one of the greatest books I have ever read. I recommend this book to everyone who is a fan of history or a fan of the underdog. Sheer brilliance.

I would have given this six stars out of five but am limited to 5+ stars.

Fantastic book.

My Rating: 5+ stars

Buy it Now:


Free to read on Kindle Unlimited!


Amazon US https://www.amazon.com/Northern-Wolf-Book-ebook/dp/B07X3WRXXW

Amazon CA https://www.amazon.ca/Northern-Wolf-Book-ebook/dp/B07X3WRXXW

Amazon UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/Northern-Wolf-Book-ebook/dp/B07X3WRXXW

Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/48057226-northern-wolf

BookBub https://www.bookbub.com/books/northern-wolf-northern-wolf-series-book-1-by-daniel-greene


Author Biography:


Daniel is the award-winning author of The End Time Saga and the historical fiction Northern Wolf Series. Whether it’s a saber charge in the American Civil War or a gun battle between two rival bands surviving a hellish landscape, he is known for his ability to embed every page with fast-paced action, thrilling suspense, and gritty realism. He is an avid traveler and physical fitness enthusiast with a deep passion for history. The works of George R.R. Martin, Steven Pressfield, Bernard Cornwell, Robert Jordan, and George Romero, have inspired his work. Although he is a Midwesterner for life, he's lived in Virginia long enough to consider it home. He is a proud member of the Horror Writers Association and the Historical Novel Society.

Social Media Links:

Contact him on his Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/DanielGreenebooks Or his website: http://www.danielgreenebooks.com


Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/danielgreenebooks/

Reviewed by: Mr. N

#NorthernWolf #DanielGreene #historicalfiction #fiction #historical #civilwar #books #bookish #bookreview #fivestarreview #fivestars #bestseller #fictionalhistory #mustread

©2018-2020 BY N. N. LIGHT. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. PROUDLY CREATED WITH WIX.COM