5+ stars for A Merry MacNaughton Mishap by Bestseller @Aubreywynne51 #romance #highlander #bookish



Title: A Merry MacNaughton Mishap


Author: Aubrey Wynne


Genre: Highland Romance

Book Blurb:

Two feuding clans, one accidental encounter, a wee bit of holiday enchantment…

Peigi Craigg has tended to her family without complaint since her mother’s death. But now they ask too much. The English landlord has offered her uncle, the Craigg chieftain, an escape from debt and starvation. The price: Peigi must become the earl’s mistress. If she refuses, the remainder of their clan must leave the Highlands. If she agrees, her hope of a husband and family of her own are lost.

Calum MacNaughton rescues a man from an icy drowning, only to find he’s a member of the rival Craigg clan. The man swears to repay Calum for saving his life and broaches the possibility of peace between the clans. Months later, the Craigg reappears with his most precious possession, hoping to settle his debt before the new year.

Now Calum has until Twelfth Night to convince her to stay.

Read free in Kindle Unlimited!

A MacNaughton Castle Romance

Novella - A Merry MacNaughton Mishap

Book 1 – Deception and Desire

Book 2 - An Allusive Love

Book 3 - A Bonny Pretender

(Note: This story was first published as part of the Bestselling Boxed set Stars are Brightly Shining, November 2019)

My Review:

The MacNaughton and Craigg clans have been rivals for as long as Calum can remember but that doesn’t stop him from rescuing a drowning man named Malachi. Calum sneaks him into his home to recover from near-death and makes sure he is well before he sends him on his way. Malachi vows to repay Calum but little does Calum know, his life will never be the same. When Malachi returns with his clansman and a beautiful lass named Peigi, Calum is smitten. A marriage between the two clans is proposed and Calum agrees. Peigi is hesitant and it’s up to Calum to convince her to be his bride. Will Calum succeed in time for the festivities or has he lost her forever?

I love a Highland holiday romance and this one is one of the best I’ve read. Aubrey Wynne has taken a sliver of Scottish history and breathed new life into it. Rivalries between clans, women used as pawns, the harsh realities of clan life in this time period and sacrificing love for duty all play a part in this story. Then there’s the sweet romance. From the moment the couple meets, there’s an attraction. While both fight it for a time, eventually they give in and the real fun begins.

Why is this a five-star read? As a devout reader of Aubrey Wynne, it was such fun reading how Gideon’s grandparents met and fell in love. The historical accuracy in this story transported me to 18th century Scotland and I loved every moment. Intricate details of the food they prepared for the holidays allowed me to escape modern-day and pull up a chair at the table. The characters, both main and secondary, leaped off the pages and into my heart. This will become a yearly read every Christmas. If you’re looking for a Scottish holiday romance with a feisty heroine and a brave hero, you’ll love this story! Perfect for fans of Outlander. Highly recommend!

My Rating: 5+ stars

Buy it Now:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08BSQQ9P5/

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/54255775-a-merry-macnaughton-mishap

https://www.bookbub.com/books/a-merry-macnaughton-mishap-an-historical-romance-novella-macnaughton-castle-romance-by-aubrey-wynne


Author Biography:

Bestselling and award-winning author Aubrey Wynne is an elementary teacher by trade, champion of children and animals by conscience, and author by night. She resides in the Midwest with her husband, dogs, horses, mule, and barn cats. Obsessions include wine, history, travel, trail riding, and all things Christmas. Her Regency romances and A Chicago Christmas series have received numerous awards and thrice nominated as a Rone finalist by InD’tale Magazine.

Aubrey’s first love is medieval romance but after dipping her toe in the Regency period in 2018 with the Wicked Earls’ Club, she was smitten. This inspired her spin-off series Once Upon a Widow. In 2020, she will launch the Scottish Regency series A MacNaughton Castle Romance with Dragonblade Novels.

Social Media Links:

Website: https://aubreywynne.com/

Facebook: https://facebook.com/magnificentvalor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/aubreywynne51

Instagram: https://instagram.com/Aubreywynne51

Subscribe to Aubrey’s newsletter for new releases and exclusive excerpts and free stories:

Newsletter: http://www.subscribepage.com/k3f1z5

Facebook Reading Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/AubreyWynnesEverAfters/

Reviewed by: Mrs. N

#AMerryMacNaughtonMishap #AubreyWynne #AMacNaughtonCastleRomance #DragonbladePublishing #highlandromance #historicalromance #kindleunlimited #highland #romance #romancereaders #readromance #christmasromance #holidayromance #book #books #bookish #bookreview #fivestars #dontmissout

1 comment

©2018-2020 BY N. N. LIGHT. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. PROUDLY CREATED WITH WIX.COM